Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

I know the effects of bullying…another child takes her life because of it. What kind of world is it that allows/creates this?

Patricia Sands' Blog

I don’t want to post this. I don’t want to talk about this again. However I know we have to keep the conversation going. Bullying. Are we making any progress? This week in Canada another teen took her life as a result of bullying. What a heart-breaking tragedy. No one has the right make someone’s life so miserable.

Seven weeks ago Amanda Todd posted this video on YouTube. How is it possible that  our system failed her?

A memorial fund has been set up through the Royal Bank of Canada and donations may be made at any branch. I wasn’t able to find an online link at this point.

In  just ten days, we should all be talking about the International Stand Up Against Bullying Day. This year October 26th is the designated day. One day is is not enough though – we need to speak out about bullying at…

View original post 167 more words

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

7 comments on “

  1. soziebird
    October 16, 2012

    Thank you for this post …. children. Learn what they see their parents doing.; bullying, judging, intolerance … setting up situations only to make someone feel ‘less than’ becomes the objective. Most political, religious & social systems have within them insidious elements of us vs. them = bullying.
    Parents – wake up !! And teach your children well …..

    Like

  2. Juliette
    October 16, 2012

    I saw this and it broke my heart. A lot of kids can’t see into the future or have an “I’ll show them all one day” attitude. That is where all of us come into the picture. Teach your kids to stand up for kids who are bullied or different. Come to their aid. Teach your kids not to be friends with bullies. Teach them to stand up to bullies. I see it happening at my daughter’s middle school – 13 year olds standing up to bullies and saying NO. It works. Like Susie said – Parents – wake up!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 16, 2012

      Absolutely! Stand up to bullies and watch them shrink to size.

      Like

  3. the secret keeper
    October 16, 2012

    I posted a video about a girl named Jade who did an almost exact video this past week. It is there last way of reaching out. After making her video she killed herself three days later. The same circumstances—bullying. Stripping away of their self esteem so that they feel worthless. No one to turn to for support. No one who they feel care about them enough to keep them alive. It is a sad place that someone could be made to feel this way but when you are constantly tortured by your peers. What goes on in the minds of those who are doing the torturing? Why would they want to destroy someone in such a brutal and unfeeling fashion? Such coldness and callousness. No empathy. No compassion. The torturerers are like cold blodded killers. They may not have physically murdered Jade or Amanda but they drove them to that state of mind that they only way out of the pain, to release them from the torture is to end their lives. Anti-bullying is being brought to the attention of the school systems and the parents and to the children but it does not stop. There is a support system on Tumblr that has a built in way of connecting where people can post how they are feeling. That they are in trouble and want to kill themselves. The reason has bullying behind it most of the time. It has become so severe and unrelenting. It is like the book “Lord of the Flies”, a weakness is found and those who torture push at that Achilles Heal until they get the victim to take their own life. Does it make the torturererss feel free of responsibility? Why aren’t they held responsible? Their actions caused Amanda and Jade and others in similar situations to commit murder on themselves but they are not the murderers, those who torture and those in authority that are aware of it and do not do enough to stop it are responsible. It needs to be stopped but it isn’t being stopped. The strong are not punished and the weak don’t survive. How is any of this right? J.K. the secret keeper

    Like

  4. the secret keeper
    October 16, 2012

    I am going to repost what I wrote here with some revisions and repost the video Jade made that is on another one of my posts. Maybe if we started a wave of issuing this material it may make more people take notice about bullying and the painfully sad results of the actions of bullies. One other things that I did post was a video from a TV show where a character committed suicide because they could not deal with being gay and in love with another boy. It is only a shade different from bullying but even this sometimes is part of what bulying will do is to attack something one feels badly about themselves for being different. Something they are ashamed of because they are not getting the support they need in order to accept who they are. Whether that is being gay or lesbian or just being different in some way in which they can just not accept. J.K.

    Like

  5. Pingback: The Fatal Effects of Bullying | the secret keeper

  6. Pingback: The Fatal Effects of Bullying | the secret keeper

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2012 by in Special Projects and tagged .
