Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

Post A Poem for What is Wilde in YOU!

As it was Oscar Wilde’s birthday yesterday, I thought I would celebrate one of my favourite writers. P.s. Thank you to Marla Todd (Vampire Maman) for the idea.

Oscar Fingal O’Flaherty Wills Wilde was an infamous Irish wit and poet who became one of London’s most popular and celebrated of playwrights.  Born in Dublin, in 1854, he was the son of Anglo-Irish, aristocratic parents.

Oscar inherited his propensity for social suavity from his mother. Never short of a quip, Oscar’s witticisms are still a source of humour and delight.

Remember…”A dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world. ”

“Always forgive your enemies – nothing annoys them so much.”

“The only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it… I can resist everything but temptation.”

“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.”

What is Wilde in you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stars

I wonder at stars,

fixed and constant in celestial orbit

looking to ancient lore for sense-making of now

Geometric patterns in relationship,

exacting influence,

or so ancients say.

Can glittering pin-pricked mantle of deep blue mother night

exact a toll, help or hinder movements,

push, pull, block, cross?

Why put our faith in stars?

The twinkling echoes of millions of years ago?

(c) 2012 Niamh Clune

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

21 comments on “Post A Poem for What is Wilde in YOU!

  1. Tonia Marie Houston
    October 17, 2012

    “An idea that is not dangerous is unworthy of being called an idea at all.”

    Clandestine wonderings.
    Secret ruminations that
    all we behold is not the truth,
    but metaphors behind
    drawn curtains. And
    are we not fit to dream
    of songs and stories given
    to that mystique, we call the ideal?

    Behold the stifled voices
    of the men and women
    who have too many ideas.
    All our lives made
    to count the stones thrown
    and collect them in pockets
    ripped by the weight of
    the day-after-tomorrows
    and stifled ambitions.

    But this is a dangerous poem-
    a bullet, a blade,
    a thing
    in print that says
    We are thinkers, dreamers,
    world-builders, poets, artists
    sharing the songs that tell the
    stories behind broken hearts
    and lost ideals.
    Yes, this thing is dangerous
    and startling but not brittle
    and we all know
    the right convictions
    spread like pollen.

    A little rough around the edges, but the Wilde quotes do inspire. 🙂

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 17, 2012

      Wow! Tonia…This is extraordinary and quite brilliant. I hope you get this message.

      Like

      • Tonia Marie Houston
        October 17, 2012

        Thank you, Niamh. I may tweak it and share on my blog, with a reblog of this one. Would you mind?

        Like

      • ontheplumtree
        October 18, 2012

        Please do! And let me know the edits and I will tweak it here for you also.

        Like

  2. Elizabeth Castillo
    October 17, 2012

    Words Gone Wilde

    Enveloped ideas swimming this vast sea
    Cannot quite control them swirling around this distant revelry,
    Not my intention to confuse dire audiences of my premonitions
    Just wanted to spill these feelings for only to inspire is my intention.

    Wilde musings scattered in this ocean of catatonic frenzy,
    His Wilde way of thinking I can’t help but admire
    Being different, out of the ordinary and sometimes branded as crazy
    I don’t mind since I’m this world to make a difference and be heard!

    Elizabeth E. Castillo Copyright 2012

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 17, 2012

      Lovely, Elizabeth. Thank you for joining us with your oceanic depth.

      Like

  3. Shawn MacKENZIE
    October 17, 2012

    I can’t believe I forgot Oscar’s birthday! He had, according to an enchantment of Eire Dragons, a quite wonderful relationship with their mythic kind. Of course, his pixilated way is evident from his fairy tales – (The Happy Prince is a sentimental favourite of mine)…But more on that another time….Extraordinary poetry, Tonia and Niamh. Thank you!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 17, 2012

      Yes! He was away with the faeries, and had many an encounter with those from mythic realms…(The Rose and the Nightingale is one of my favourites.

      Like

  4. the secret keeper
    October 18, 2012

    “If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.”
    ~ Oscar Wilde ~
    Over and over again
    By jennifer kiley
    10.18.12

    Secretly in the night
    I listen for the quiet
    It is time
    Nature seeks
    Its satisfaction
    Slipping out
    Under the moonlight
    Watching the stars
    I wait
    Will she come
    She did promise
    The air is filled
    With a warm
    Foggy mist
    Covering the ground
    Filling the dark spaces
    With invisibility

    Come to me
    Now while I am warm
    Waiting for your touch
    The witches tea
    We consumed
    To break the spell
    He put on you
    Keeping you
    Away from me
    He doesn’t know
    He can’t satisfy you
    Not in the way
    That I am able
    To do
    You know
    This is true

    We have felt love
    Together alone
    While he went away
    And when he returned
    Your hands
    Your mouth
    You couldn’t
    Deny me
    My body
    And love
    Would and could
    Never turn you away
    I’m in your blood
    You are in mine

    When in public
    Holding hands
    Wasn’t ever allowed
    Why do you stay
    You don’t love him
    He’s not your kind
    You crave me
    The woman
    Of your dreams
    Your nightmares too
    But your home
    Is not mine
    To break
    He must
    Turn you out’

    That would free me
    To love you
    The way
    You need
    To really feel
    There isn’t any way’
    That he can
    Make his touches
    Feel like mine
    My touches
    On your body
    Are like
    Your own hands
    Touching like mine
    I know where
    To make you feel
    The deepest
    Part of you

    When you are ready
    To be set free
    I will be waiting
    On that day
    To show you the love
    He could never
    Even possibly
    Think of
    Making you feel
    Not ever
    Would he
    Be able
    To take you
    To that highest
    Place
    Where I would
    Set you free

    © Jennifer Kiley 2012

    Like

  5. Tonia Marie Houston
    October 18, 2012

    Reblogged this on Passionfind with Tonia Marie Harris and commented:
    On The Plum Tree celebrated Oscar Wilde’s birthday a few days ago and encouraged poets to do the same. The following quote inspired the poem below. If you enjoy poetry, join us in celebrating Wilde’s wit and writing. Thank you.

    “An idea that is not dangerous is unworthy of being called an idea at all.”
    ~ Oscar Wilde

    Clandestine Wonderings

    Secret ruminations that
    all we behold is not the truth,
    but metaphors behind
    drawn curtains. And
    are we not fit to dream
    of songs and stories given
    to that mystique, we call the ideal?

    Behold the stifled voices
    of the men and women
    who have too many ideas:
    All our lives made
    to count the stones thrown
    and collect them in pockets
    ripped by the weight of
    the day-after-tomorrows
    and stifled ambitions.

    But this is a dangerous poem-
    a bullet, a scythe, an anvil-
    A thing
    in print that says
    We are thinkers, dreamers,
    world-builders, poets, artists
    sharing the songs that tell the
    stories behind broken hearts
    and lost ideals.

    Yes, this thing is dangerous
    and startling but not brittle.
    And we all know
    the right convictions
    spread like pollen.

    Like

  6. Juliette
    October 18, 2012

    Beautiful! Thank you to everyone for sharing your words. And thank you to the inspiration from the wonderful Oscar Wilde – you will always be remembered and cherished.

    Like

  7. Margo van der Voort
    October 19, 2012

    Recently seen written on the inside of a toilet door at my local library:

    ‘Fashion is a form of ugliness so intollerable that we are forced to change it every six months’ ~ Oscar Wilde ~

    This made me smile. He’s obviously still alive and well!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 19, 2012

      Brilliant, Margo! I love this quote. It is one of my favourites!

      Like

  8. thiskidreviewsbooks
    October 20, 2012

    I have never heard of Oscar Wilde before now, but I love his quotes! 😉

    I was inspired to write this poem from my recent vacation to the Albuquerque International Hot Air Balloon Fiesta!

    Balloons Gone Wilde
    By Erik, Age 10-ish

    PHUUUU! PHUUU!

    A hearty cheer
    for all to hear,
    From the ground
    to the sky.
    Balloon fly high!

    Up they go.
    Nine in a row.
    Flashing their light!
    What a sight!

    By dawn they’re up.
    More than five hundred.
    Windy day,
    Can’t get up.

    Poor penguin,
    who couldn’t fly.
    Poor cow,
    who didn’t jump the moon.

    Darth Vader,
    gone away.
    To a galaxy
    far, far away.

    Elvis Presley,
    King of Rock.
    Flew high,
    touched the sky.

    Lion King,
    Oh so hungry.
    Needs a snack.
    How about that Zebra?

    All the balloons,
    very peaceful.
    Way up high,
    I want to fly!

    All the balloons,
    Beautiful,
    Colorful,
    Silent designs!

    My Mind,
    soars with them.
    My Imagination,
    soon follows.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 20, 2012

      Now then, Oscar, ooops! Erik! Oscar would be so proud of you! He wrote some beautiful, witty plays, poetry, and even some children’s fairy stories. It is wonderful to know that I have introduced you to one of the greatest ever playwrights!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
