Niamh Clune

Environment, poetry, comment, children's books,

Do You Allow Yourself A Cuddle Up Day?

All this week, I have been celebrating the first full moon of January by mentioning how it inspires imagination.  As today is designated Cuddle-Up day, I am connecting the moon with celebrating duvet days.

My best cuddle ups are with my grandchildren, snuggling under a duvet on the sofa, eating pizza and watching a magical film.

Best of all, my grandchildren love being read to.  My granddaughter, who is eight now, has inspired most of my books. I love writing for her. She has an astounding vocabulary and is an exceptionally advanced reader. She absolutely loves books. My grandson (fifteen months) is already following in his sister’s footsteps and displays incredible concentration when being read to. I shared my love of language and love of quirky words and rhymes with my daughter. Both of us were singers (my first career) and also love singing stories into life.

Perhaps a natural appreciation of language is generational. After all, when we are enthusiastic about vocabulary, we pass on that enthusiasm to our children. I never believe in underestimating our little ones and what they are capable of ‘grokking’! Surrounding our little ones with a duvet of rich language will enable them to learn comfortably and subliminally!

After all this talk about the moon this week and it now being Cuddle-Up Day, how about cuddling up with a lovely story about the moon?

In this story, the princess of the golden moon falls out of the sky and worries that she will never find her way back home. Martha hears her crying in the forest and the two girls become friends. As the princess has never seen water before, the girls have a lovely adventure discovering its nature. The princess hopes that if she follows the shimmering stream which threads through the forest, it will lead her home. Will she find her way back home to her mother-the-moon?

This is a lovely bedtime story to snuggle up with that also inspires a question or two about the moon and the importance of water. Wishing you all a snug duvet of warm words! And if you have a mind to, you can  SHOP HERE

front cover smaller res for web

Princess of the Golden Moon Dr Niamh Children’s Books

 

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

2 comments on “Do You Allow Yourself A Cuddle Up Day?

  1. Darlene
    January 6, 2018

    I remember this book. Such a lovely story. Your grandchildren are so lucky you have you in their lives! ❤

    Like

    • Dr Niamh
      January 6, 2018

      Thank you, Darlen…They are my sun, moon and stars.

      Like

Leave a comment