Niamh Clune

Environment, poetry, comment, children's books,

Dr. NanaPlum Story Corner: Which Story Shall I Tell? It’s All Magic!

http://www.amazon.com/Bellamy-The-Butterfly-Everything-Purpose-ebook/dp/B00JOWG2UW

Sssh! Did you know that Bellamy The Butterfly is really a magician? Shall I tell you how?

I am going to Lechlade Festival to read some of my children’s stories. But which stories shall I tell? I can’t tell them all, so I must choose.

Shall I tell some that are written in rhyme all about bees, butterflies and worms, and the natural magic of the garden?

Shall I tell a fairy story and summon the magic of the imagination?

Or shall I tell a wisdom story all about the magic that is within us, and how it helps us see the world in a different light?

It’s all magic. Telling stories to children is magic.

I will be in the story tent at The Lechlade Festival on Sunday @12.50 weaving story magic.

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

5 comments on “Dr. NanaPlum Story Corner: Which Story Shall I Tell? It’s All Magic!

  1. davidprosser
    May 20, 2014

    I’m sure whatever you decide to go with will be well received Niamh. I hope you have a wonderful time and enchant the children into becoming prolific readers, especially of rhymes as I could do with selling a few books. lol.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  2. Gretchen Del Rio
    May 20, 2014

    How perfect, Niamh. What better to make a story sing than seeing magic.

    Like

  3. Patricia Tilton
    May 20, 2014

    Love that new cover on Bellamy! Have a great time telling stories at the festival. I have a feeling your stories will weave the magic of imagination and the magic within.

    Like

  4. thiskidreviewsbooks
    May 22, 2014

    Hmm… Maybe read a Pa Dug and Rosie book, and an excerpt or two from your novel(s)? (depending on the age of the kids you are reading to?) Congrats on going! 😀

    Like

Leave a comment