Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

The Wednesday Poetry Corner With Mahasty Eslahy

I have great pleasure introducing Mahasty Eslahy to the plum tree. Mahasty has been delighting us all on Facebook sharing her poems and art, and we thank her sincerely. Mahasty also gives us some of her stunning art work to illustrate her piece. Very recently, Mahasty has lost her beautiful sister through illness. I am sure you would all like to join with me in sending our love to her and her family.

By Mahasty Eslahy

Poetess

Art By Mahasty Eslahy

Poetry is a way of life, and I cannot imagine not reading and writing verses. In fact, writing poetry is being home for me. I call this home, “Poetry House”. Dwelling in this place generates safety for me. Writing poetry is a manner of awakening into a vibrant existence. Different stories circle, are symbolised and personified and written in this peculiar expressive language. Thoroughly ordinary language to me, most of the time bears misinterpretations – whereas poetry can be interpreted by the readers not as a statement but as a scenario with their own participations, through their own life experiences. So it can be said that poetry is the occurrence of the candor, the occasion of truthfulness, and episode of openness. Notwithstanding to me, it is the chattel of free will and autonomy. I feel and see speed of the light when I write a poem, as through writing, the pain that has stimulated me to record a special outlook, can be healed in a very short time. I fall in love over and over when I write a new poem. I declare justly that, writing poetry evolves my captive emotions to the freed sensations.

Finger

Art By Mahasty Eslahy

Poets that influenced my world, view, and writing
Forough Farokhzad, and then Sohrab Sepehri are the first poets that I started to read their works, while still, my ears were familiar with Hafez and Molana’s poetry since I was very young, as my father’s advice to us were mostly some lines of their poetry.

Forough was an anarchist poet and a woman who tried to convey her repressed desires at those days, although, women could not even think that they had rights for expressing their desires, and in one of her love poems she says, “You inflamed my ardent longing, hence consigning my poems are blazed and kindled”. She roared in her poems that she wants to have her voice through her poetry, and her voice passed through my ears and hooked into my heart. And Sohrab Sepehri was a poet who had a revolutionary view approaching to religion, but in a very simple and unique metaphoric trend. He was labeled as a pagan, but very popular in those days as another anarchist, regarding to religion. In fact he created an earthy religion, or religion of love towards nature and all simple things around human beings. I adored him, as he said very complicated things with straightforward and understanding language. Hafez and Molana then after, became the poets, philosophers, and sophists helping me to explore what life and being were and are. In fact they put me into no dead end path with various existence and identities.

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

14 comments on “The Wednesday Poetry Corner With Mahasty Eslahy

  1. Pendyala Pradeep
    February 19, 2014

    strangely, poetry, music, philandering, drinking, smoking and making passionate speeches…go together…
    I wonder, can you have your voice through your poetry these days…??
    Let me try it in Hindi and English…
    Rendezvous…
    I have translated few Telugu songs earlier
    but I never translated my own poem ever
    today, I’ve tried it…
    I’m sure, you’ll like it…
    Mulaakat
    Meri aankhon ko usi ki talaash rehti hai
    saans bhi loon toh khushboo usi ki aati hai
    shayree karna usi ne sikhaya
    pyar mein behosh hona bhi
    uski baaton mein ek nasha hai
    uski hansi mano meri muskaan ban gayi hai
    parchhayee uski mere dil o dimaag mein bani hai
    har lamha mera usi ne churaya hai
    nadaan hain hum
    hairaan hai ham
    apne isee sawalon se
    pareshan hai ham ki
    kya sapne mein woh mil jaye
    toh mulakaat kahenge ham…??
    ENGLISH TRANSLATION…
    Rendezvous…
    My eyes long for her..
    even my breath smells of her fragrance..
    she taught me poetry
    and to become oblivious of everything but her love
    I’m mesmerized by her words
    her laughter has become my smile
    her thoughts cloud my mind n heart
    I dedicate every moment of my life to her
    I’m naive
    I’m amazed
    I have no answers to
    my own query
    I wonder
    if my dreams of her
    is our rendezvous…

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      February 19, 2014

      Hi Pendyala, is your response to the post above by Mahasty, or is it to my biog at the end of every blog page, which is how WordPress sets it up, as it is my blog. I love your poem. And I would love to feature you here?

      Like

  2. Pendyala Pradeep
    February 19, 2014

    thank you so much dear Niamh Clune…yes, it was a response to both..your blog page as well as post of Mahasty Eslahy…if you read the first two lines of my ibid comment, you’d know…

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      February 19, 2014

      I did read it carefully, but was not clear. Thank you for clarifying. 🙂

      Like

  3. nativemericangirl
    February 19, 2014

    Poetry is the electrical current that connects us to the pulse y heartbeat of life. Life is many avenues that we journey second by second, minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day, week by week, month by month, year by year. It’s our personal definition of humanity y how we’re affected. I love this piece y how it encourages the reader to imagine the realities y possibilities. Gracias Mahasty y Niamh. 🙂

    Like

    • Mahasty Eslahy
      February 19, 2014

      Thanks so much Pendyala for reading, like, and a special comment, and posting this great poem.

      Like

    • Mahasty Eslahy
      February 19, 2014

      Thanks so much Nativemericangirl for reading and your great comment.

      Like

  4. Imen Benyoub
    February 19, 2014

    excellent artwork and post my dear Mahasty, Forough Farokhzad is an excpetional woman and poet and i read some of her poems..so beautifully written..!

    Like

  5. thiskidreviewsbooks
    February 19, 2014

    Cool art! 🙂

    Like

  6. Daniel Vimont
    February 19, 2014

    Hello Mahasty!

    This posting made me curious enough about your work to go and find your blog ( http://mahastyeslahy.blogspot.com/ ).

    I would encourage everyone to go and experience what you are doing there. To me, in each blog posting, you are creating a single unified work consisting of an image and a poem, and to fully experience the work, both must be considered together. The two most recent postings that I see on your page, “Hello Humanity” and “Our Backdrop” are especially strong examples of the power of this mixed media “Gesamtkunstwerk” (sorry there’s no English word, so I had to borrow the German).

    Your work deserves as broad an audience as possible. Please give us more!

    Thanks very much!!

    Like

    • Mahasty Eslahy
      February 20, 2014

      Hello Daniel! Firstly thanks so much for reading my work. Secondly thanks so much for your wonderful comment. And yes I will try to post more works, but recently I have become interested of publishing my works in a traditional and modern way (I mean hard copy and online books). I will be so happy being your friend on facebook, as I am posting my works mostly on facebook, it may looks not professional, but recently I am getting the attention of my readers. Thank you again Daniel, and definitely I will post my works on my blog too!! Best and Best!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2014 by in Guest Authors, Poetry and tagged , , , , .
