Dr Niamh's Plum Tree Creative Community

Who is on the plum tree?

Plum Tree Pick Of The Week

Myself, Shawn MacKenzie, and Jennifer Kiley have been perusing a week of Facebook posts and blogs to bring you these wonderful picks to inspire your mood this weekend. Personally, I found so many inspirational posts this week that it was hard to choose. In the end, I chose two poems by Reena Prasad (Butterflies Of Time) and some music that was shared by Fyscene Shields. Shawn MacKenzie brings us The Canadian Art Junkie, whilst Jennifer Kiley shares a piece by Cristian Mihai.

For my first P.O.W., I am featuring two pieces by Reena Prasad. Reena is a writer that stirs my imagination. She is the quintessential poet ~ fine, sensitive, and deeply sensual. Her powerful imagery evokes a smell and taste of India, as she transports me there through vibrant ochre word colour, fiery earth scent, and cinnamon spiced, passion.

In the first piece, Reena describes the work of Mahakavi Kalidas ~ one of the greatest scholars and poets in Sanskrit. Reena’s description of his work is poetry in itself…

Find Reena HERE.

Ritu-varnana-in-Sanskrit-LiteratureHe wrote verses on the female form, his quill teasing out blushes wherever he stroked.

Tender soft yet sure- the edge of his passion as he dipped his feather into her shadows.

Sacred and inviting – all at once she lay back and let art take the lead, he found that his deft touch made her glow as he scribed the softness along each proud curve.

Smearing his ink all over her wanton tresses for they insisted on lying upon unopened buds, he conjured the dimples that only art could know, put a firm feather tip down and wrote for the world.

It trembled but it wrote with the finesse of a lover, tremulous with what it had touched before, insistent that it should reveal its awe to every soul, confident that lovers could read what it meant to love.

Beauty, love denounced, now languish in shrouds, we struggle to write about love in sorry metaphors.
The finest of life has been pronounced a sin even though freely tasted centuries ago

©Reena Prasad 7th feb 2013

Poetry you suffer
from being caressed by bumbling fingers
unaware/uncaring of the skilled lovers in your past
never seeing how you recoil into a dark shell
your delicate feathers tightly bunched
Never seeing you pray
for the marauding night to end

Poetry you suffer
at the hands of pimps
and yet you blush
to the delight of your true loves
when they come across your lifeless form
at nameless brothels
-reena (c)

And for music lovers, I want to share a marvellous piece posted by Fyscene Shields …

Shawn MacKenzie’s Pick Of The Week is Canadian Art Junkie.

She says, “The link below is from August (they don’t always publish weekly), but I love it. CAJ, aka boomerontario, is an artist, journalist, and world traveler who showcases new Canadian artists. Though none of her featured artists disappoint, Rudolf Kurz’s work particularly tickles my sense of the macabre. There is a blend of old and new and the result is often quite startling. (And I think the Dragons would get a kick out of him.)

http://canadianartjunkie.com/2013/08/07/rudolf-kurz-delicate-but-macabre/

Jennifer Kiley offers us a sensitive and relevant piece about time…

She says, “My Pick of the Week is Cristian Mihai’s post “Not Today…”  It speaks to everyone who has a dream. Time is unknown. We never know when it will be taken away. We can’t expect at any age we have a lot of time to do whatever we want to do. We think time will wait for us. No, it won’t. Whatever it is we want to do, we can’t keep putting it off. To realize our dream during our life means doing it. We need to be in the middle of our dream every moment. We need to think about it. To dream about. To actually do it. I find this post to be inspirational & thought provoking. Living our dream gives life the meaning we need to feel alive.

Cristian makes an eloquent case for following our dreams now. He is consistently brilliant in his writing. And following his blog is an inspiration for me and his many other followers. He is young [he looks like a young teenager] and pursuing his dreams. He has published books and writes a regular blog.

The following is the beginning of his post “Not Today…”

[]

“I spent most of today sleeping. Not because I was tired, but mostly because I felt like doing nothing. When I finally decided to get out of bed and write some stuff, the power went out. Ironic, isn’t it? I had spent most of my day telling myself that tomorrow I’ll have plenty of time to write, and when I couldn’t, I panicked.

There are few simple truths in life, and one of them is the fact that we rarely appreciate what we have until we lose it. Until it can no longer be. We tend to take things for granted, and when those things are taken from us, that’s when we want to fight.

We’ve always despised the ghost of what can no longer be.

But if that’s so, why not act? Why not act now? Well, first of all, because we’re afraid: of failure, of our dreams coming true. We’re afraid of the unknown, we’re afraid of journeys that might lead us nowhere. So I often tell myself that in order to reach a place no one has ever been to, you need to be lost. Truly lost.

Then, we feel as if time is on our side. Especially when we are young. We see time as an almost inexhaustible resource. But, the truth is, time is never on our side. People often tell me that I’m young and have my whole life ahead of me, but I don’t have that certainty. And neither do you.

As Faulkner wrote, “time is your misfortune.”

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

11 comments on “Plum Tree Pick Of The Week

  1. thiskidreviewsbooks
    October 5, 2013

    Smoldering Smidges! That’s great poetry! 🙂

    Like

  2. Jamie Dedes
    October 5, 2013

    A lovely collection of bonbons in a post. Thank you!
    Happy Saturday …

    Like

  3. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME
    October 6, 2013

    Lovely to see my work featured here. Thank you very much Niamh. 🙂

    Like

  4. Uncle Tree
    October 6, 2013

    All good choices! 🙂 Reena’s poetry is out-of-this-world to my mind and eyes. I like the way she positions herself amongst the stars, freely spinning and spilling her lovely words onto one of the prettiest blog sites I’ve ever come across.

    Shawn, Rudolf’s work is fascinating, and your description fits the bill. Macabre in October to perfection.

    Jennifer, Cristian seems to be well on his way to understanding the paradox of Life’s predicaments. I hope he continues to smile through every journey fate propels him into.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 6, 2013

      Lovely comments Uncle Tree. TY for the visit.

      Like

    • BUTTERFLIES OF TIME
      October 7, 2013

      Thank you Keith Alan for your lovely comments and for the unfailing support you give by visiting my blog. This just warmed my soul.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Plum Tree Pick Of The Week | BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

  6. great pieces, all…

    Like

Leave a Reply

