Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

The Wednesday Poetry Corner With Reena Prasad

How I love it when Reena Prasad graces the Plum Tree Blog with her delicate, lace-wing words, weaving her tales of intellect and soul in a sacred marriage. Thank you, Reena. We are blessed to have you here.

The Wednesday Corner By Reena Prasad

“These fragments I have shored against my ruins”

Patrick Rothfuss

Patrick Rothfuss

When we are children we seldom think of the future. This innocence leaves us free to enjoy ourselves as few adults can. The day we fret about the future is the day we leave our childhood behind.”
― Patrick Rothfuss

Today I recall the poems which almost every poet writes at some point of time whatever may be his/ her style of writing i.e. poems which evoke nostalgia. They contain a nugget of happy /sad moments or an experience from the past locked up securely within. I revel in the discovery of a brief moment or some secrets that were never spoken aloud. A picture of life in other part of the world emerges and some lost years or relationships that have faded away, find another lease of life. If I could describe these kinds of poems, I would say these are:

Unruly feathers sticking out
from a duck’s back
caught in the wild weeds of memory
and smoothened back into place
The tumultuous flow of time
briefly paused from slipping
by a slender image
a slight strum of a string
a familiar voice loved perhaps
sticking to the wall within the heart
saying ‘No’ to the murky stream of obscurity
-Reena

Strange that the things which seem loud and huge in childhood continue to occupy giant bytes of memory space even in adulthood like the remembrance of the “boom of the tingling strings” The ‘Piano” is a masterpiece by the master D.H. L. The tone in this simple lyric of three stanzas is intimate and creates an old fashioned atmosphere with the words ‘hymns’ and ‘parlor’. Listen as the music of this poem matches the music of the piano which is its central theme.

Pianolawrencefrieda
by D. H. Lawrence

Softly, in the dusk, a woman is singing to me;
Taking me back down the vista of years, till I see
A child sitting under the piano, in the boom of the tingling strings
And pressing the small, poised feet of a mother who smiles as she sings.

In spite of myself, the insidious mastery of song
Betrays me back, till the heart of me weeps to belong
To the old Sunday evenings at home, with winter outside
And hymns in the cozy parlor, the tinkling piano our guide.

So now it is vain for the singer to burst into clamor
With the great black piano appassionato. The glamour
Of childish days is upon me, my manhood is cast
Down in the flood of remembrance, I weep like a child for the past.

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

20 comments on “The Wednesday Poetry Corner With Reena Prasad

  1. Shawn MacKENZIE
    July 10, 2013

    A beautiful invocation, Reena.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Wednesday Poetry Corner With Reena Prasad | On The Plum Tree | BUTTERFLIES OF TIME

  3. tinkwelborn
    July 10, 2013

    “the discovery of a brief moment…” Yes!

    Like

  4. nice stimulating read:)

    Like

  5. Patricia Tilton
    July 10, 2013

    Inspiring post. It’s amazing the things we remember with clarity at a time when we only needed to be a kid.

    Like

    • BUTTERFLIES OF TIME
      July 11, 2013

      Yes, it is amazing.. I remember more things and with greater clarity from those childhood years. Thank you Patricia Tilton.

      Like

  6. Uncle Tree
    July 10, 2013

    L’enfant terrible (excuse my French),
    is a marvelous way to be
    appropriate
    at the proper place and time
    deemed most unseemly by adults

    Good sense, good taste, great words,
    Reena. Thanks for sharing the fun! 🙂 Ding, ding, ding, ding, ding……….

    Like

  7. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME
    July 11, 2013

    That is so true! Thank you Keith Alan Watson for your kind words. 🙂

    Like

  8. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME
    July 11, 2013

    Thank you awesome poet and good friend Niamh for those lovely words of introduction. Means so much coming from you.

    Like

  9. jackspratt823
    July 11, 2013

    The DHL poem works because it is pared down to the absolute minimum. You couldn’t cut a word without ruining the meaning.

    Like

    • BUTTERFLIES OF TIME
      July 11, 2013

      Absolutely! Agree with you Jack Spratt that less is more.. finely pared indeed. Thank you for reading!

      Like

  10. the secret keeper
    July 11, 2013

    “…discovery of a brief moment or some secrets that were spoken out loud…” You froze me with those words. But I read on. D.H.L. is my kind of outspoken writer who doesn’t hesitate to put into words exactly what he thinks. No hesitation. The memory of sitting under the piano. That is a glimpse of a memory from a collective unconscious mind resonating through a great many minds. You gave to us a profoundly touching presentation. I need to read again at another moment in time. Thank you Niamh. You find such Gems to enlighten us. Reena Prasad, you have touched memories off in my soul that I am sure when I sleep they will slip through to my subconscious and bring on dreams of remembrances of things past. And when I awake maybe a new awareness with reveal itself. Thank you both for your creative energy reaching to all who read and listen to the awareness that you bring. Peace. Jk

    Like

  11. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME
    July 11, 2013

    Jennifer, how profound a comment! I am grateful for your careful reading and the great attention you pay to the details and the time and effort you put into your reading makes it worth writing. Thank you.

    Like

  12. Sheikha A.
    July 10, 2016

    lovely piece! especially your poem within! your poems are a beauty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

