Dr Niamh's Plum Tree Creative Community

Who is on the plum tree?

Author’s Corner With Tahlia Newland

It is my great pleasure to feature my friend and fellow author, Tahlia Newland. I introduced you to Tahlia a couple of weeks ago and Tahlia is about to release a new book in her Diamond Peak Series.  She is offering the first in the series for only 99 cents. This book will not be free, so this is your chance to discover Tahlia and read her series. Tahlia is one a new band of Independent authors who are self-motivated, self-determining and taking charge of their own destiny. Tahlia, like myself, does not wait, or ask anyone else’s permission to express her voice in the world. She does not offer her books for free (as neither will I.) She writes Magic Realism (same as myself) and incorporates Buddhist ideas into her stories (as in mine, I incorporate ancient wisdom teachings.) Tahlia demonstrates very high standards in all she does. Her books are rigorously edited (as are mine) and I think we owe it to authors such as this one to read her and search outside the box for exciting new talents that challenge the status quo!

I asked her to tell you all about her new release!

More than a story, it’s a metaphorical journey into the mind.

When I wrote the end of the The Diamond Peak Series, I found it so inspiring I DemonsGripCoverwandered around on a high for a couple of weeks afterwards. As in all good books, the characters have been through a lot of challenges (four books worth) to get to the end, and the struggles they’ve had made the ending so much more powerful than it would be if the path had been easy. But life isn’t easy, and this series, although fantasy, is very much about real life—the real inner life of our psyche. The story of a girl climbing to the top of a mountain to rescue her mother from a demon is actually a metaphor for the path to self-awareness, or self-actualisation, or enlightenment, or union with God, however you want to say it.

That’s why some people call it magical realism and others say that it has real magic because the magic used in the story comes from mind powers that we all have; in us they’re just undeveloped. My heroine, Ariel, learns to use these powers and if you follow her training, you can develop them too.  The only difference between Ariel and us is that our demons are inside our mind. In the story, they’re outside the characters, but the meditation methods they use to defeat the demons are the same ones we can use (and I do) to defeat our own demons ie our negative emotions. The methods aren’t just something I’ve made up, either, they come from over fifteen years of study and practice of Tibetan Buddhist meditation. You could say that the series is a novel approach to meditation. A little light fiction can be very enlightening!

Although this series looks like an ordinary, (actually extraordinary would better describe it,) fantasy story and has everything that you’d want in such a story, it’s more than just an entertaining read. The Diamond Peak Series is a coming of age story in the deepest possible sense, so when Ariel, my heroine gets to the top, she sees who she really is, and that is incredibly inspiring, enlightening even.  And Ariel’s journey relates to us all, because we’re all on the journey to find ourselves, whether we know it or not.

As reviewer Tim Greaton said “Tahlia Newland is an author who remembers the fear and bravado that every teen feels when first stepping away from their parents. She also understands that only by challenging her characters to their breaking points, can their true selves be examined.”

Reviewer Kate Policani said, “Unique to any other fantasy book I’ve read, Ariel’s weapons to defeat these horrors are focus, clarity, and spiritual power. Tahlia has created a unique and notable new approach to magical powers.”

Read the Diamond Peak Series and follow Ariel’s training, and you’ll never be at the mercy of your negative emotions again, and when you step onto the top of DiamondPeak at the end, you’ll not just read it, you’ll experience it.

Though written, the final book isn’t out yet (it has some rearranging and lots of editing to do first), but book three has just appeared on the virtual book shelves and the final book will be out by October.  So it’s a good time to start at the beginning, and to inspire you to do just that, book one in the series is only 99c until the 6th July on Kindle and Kobo, so pick it up and read your way to the top of Diamond Peak.

You can also pick up a FREE short story prequel to the Series here.

If you’re following the series already you can get  Demon’s Grip at

The Kindle Store , Smashwords or  Kobo

Post by Tahlia Newland, the award-winning fantasy and magical realism author with a metaphysical twist. If you enjoyed this blog post, you can join her on Facebook , Twitter or Google+ You can even fan her on Goodreads. When not reading, writing, reviewing or mentoring authors you may find her being an extremely casual high school teacher or making decorative masks. Tahlia began writing full time in 2008 after twenty years in the performing arts and a five-year stint as a creative and performing arts teacher in a High School. In 2012, she set up the Awesome Indies List to showcase quality independent fiction. She has had extensive training in meditation and Buddhist philosophy and lives in an Australian rainforest south of Sydney. Creativity is her middle name!

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

7 comments on “Author’s Corner With Tahlia Newland

  1. the secret keeper
    June 29, 2013

    Thank you Niamh and Tahlia. I am won over and a fan. The description of The Diamond Peak Series has me fascinated. I will start with reading the prequel “Run” then onto the first book of the series “Lethal Inheritance.” They have arrived on my kindle and are all set. I liked what you wrote Tahlia when you used this line: “a metaphor for the path to self-awareness, or self-actualisation, or enlightenment…” It is what one is looking for in the path of their life. You did it again both of you, Niamh and Tahlia. Inspired me. I look forward to reading more from both of your growing selection of books. And rereading to gain greater depth. TY. Jk

    Like

  2. Pingback: More than a story, it’s a metaphorical journey into the mind. | Tahlia Newland

  3. thiskidreviewsbooks
    July 1, 2013

    What a great post! Is this book good for an 11-year-old-who-supposedly-reads-beyond-his-years?

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      July 1, 2013

      I will check with Tahlia to make sure there is no cussing! I wouldn’t think there isn’t. I am reading it and have found none so far. 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: More than a story, it’s a metaphorical journey into the mind. - Tahlia Newland

Leave a Reply

