Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

Dr. NanaPlum’s Rhyme Corner

I found Darlene first on twitter,Dr Nana Plum
And thought, “my goodness,”
I must meet her ~
Super-mega-woman sounded,
Like someone sweet,
Well-balanced, rounded.
A writer of adventure too,
Whose character, Amanda, you ~
Will love to read, especially when,
She visits past of Ann Boleyn ~
At Hampton Court, right near my home
In England, where Amanda roams,
From Canada, she sprouted wings,
Flew an ocean, visits things
~ Ancient places, history
Found childhood secrets, mystery.
Ate scones with jam, delicious cream ~
Loves architecture so extreme,
Built by Wren ~ No! Not the bird ~
Who wasn’t locked within the Tower,
But built St. Paul’s for those in power.
But, sorry, here I do digress,
Miss the point and transgress
Darlene’s plot ~ well told and grounded ~
Amanda’s tour, she expounded,
How Henry Tudor is the name,
Of king who brought to England fame.
Beheading wives and chancellors,
Saints and sinners, counsellors.
You really should just take a look ~
Amanda in England ~ read the book!

Buy Here From Amazon

Buy Here From Amazon

Other Amazon Links:

Amanda in Spain

Amanda in Arabia

Blog

Twitter

 

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

13 comments on “Dr. NanaPlum’s Rhyme Corner

  1. thiskidreviewsbooks
    June 17, 2013

    I love Ms. Foster’s books! This is the coolest review I ever read! 😀

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 17, 2013

      I will be reviewing and posting all my suggested children’s books here in rhyme, Erik. I just can’t help myself.

      Like

  2. the secret keeper
    June 17, 2013

    I agree with Erik on this one, too. What marvelous rhymes. This must be fun for you. Will look forward to your rhymes so post these poems many times. Now off I go to do a post. As soon as I am through I’ll make some cinnamon toast. {{{smiles}}} Impromptu, now but another time, I will prepare with some better rhymes. {{{hugs}}} For all the wonderful rhyming. Have a great day with perfect timing. Skip and frolic. Sing and Say. Tell all around you to have a great day. Jk

    Like

  3. Darlene
    June 17, 2013

    Thanks so much for reviewing my book in rhyme!! I love it (and so does Amanda)

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 17, 2013

      I am so glad you like the rhyme…something different. And i am very glad Amanda loves it too. Many thanks for visiting us on the plum tree. P.s. Glad she enjoyed the scones!

      Like

  4. Patricia Tilton
    June 17, 2013

    Great that you reviewed Darlene’s book in rhyme. Lots of fun!

    Like

  5. Uncle Tree
    June 17, 2013

    Good fun comes from good work.
    With a knack like Niamh’s,
    we’ll not see good plums get quarky. Nay,
    quirky fruits melt in quantum wisdom only this tree.

    We shall continue to water here.
    “Grow on endlessly, good lady.”

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 18, 2013

      Love the quirk, the quark the reason
      for your rhyme, ’tis the season
      a speaking tree is more than meet
      for NanaPlum who’s growing sweet!

      Like

  6. Pingback: Rhyming Review | Darlene Foster's Blog

    • ontheplumtree
      June 18, 2013

      Greetings to you from England, in fact, Hampton Court! Not the palace itself, but very near to it. It is my daily view, my local garden. I wish I had met Amanda when she was here and helped out with the mystery.

      Like

  7. Christa Polkinhorn
    June 18, 2013

    Gee, a great review and it rhymes! Love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

