Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

Plum Tree Books Launches Pa Dug & Rosie In The Garden Series

¨ Everything in the garden serves a purpose

¨ Basic science in rhyme with beautiful illustrations for ages 3—6

¨ Easy learning and teaching

¨ Onomatopoeia for fun!

front cover final

“Help Pa Dug with what he’s doing,
But you must wear proper shoeing!”

cover wolly web

But standing firm, she shook her head,
“Worm’s cannot do what you’ve just said.
Mummy brings the food to table.
Mummy, not the worm, is able.”

Everything In The Garden Serves A Purpose

I asked 4 yr old Ralph if he thought a story about a worm could be fun. He grinned. Ralph was one of a group of children at the Lechlade Festival participating in the launch of the first two little books in the Pa Dug & Rosie series. The antics Rosie employs when she discovers the underground worm tunnels made the gathered children giggle. Some stood and jumped up and down. “Are you waking the worms too?” I asked. After all, there is something fascinating about the thought of a network of underground tunnels made by smiley, clever pink worms who help bring food to the table.  Rosie doesn’t believe Pa Dug when he tells her this. She shouts,”Worm’s cannot do what you’ve just said. Mummy brings the food to table. Mummy, not the worm, is able.” In the end, of course, she realizes the magic of nature and how the worm serves a very good purpose.

In the first book: Rosie Wears Her Wellingtons, we meet Rosie and Pa Dug for the first time and realize that even a rainy day is a celebration.

The books are written in rhyme by myself and are beautifully illustrated by Marta Pelrine Bacon.

Unique Design

I wanted a unique design for these stories, so I asked Marta for black and white illustrations with one colour on each page: the red boots, the yellow watering can, a single flower ~ all to aid memory and focus. These books should be read time and again to help a child develop rhyming skills, musicality and rhythm ~ not to mention learning about the natural magic of simple things that we might, otherwise, take for granted in the garden.

Buy them directly from Plum Tree Books at a cost of £3.50 each.  This is less than the price of a Disney magazine with benefits that will last far longer!

Request them for your schools and libraries and help make these special pocket-sized books a big success. Please let me know if you would like to review them.

Join us on Facebook and please tell people about our web-site! http://www.plumtreebooks.co.uk

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

34 comments on “Plum Tree Books Launches Pa Dug & Rosie In The Garden Series

  1. Niamh Clune
    June 1, 2013

    Many thanks Uthamz

    Like

  2. lorddavidprosser
    June 1, 2013

    Best of luck with the books Niamh. xxx Hugs xxx

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 1, 2013

      Many thanks Lord David. I hope you are well, my friend, and coping with all that life has been dishing out lately. Hearts to you.

      Like

  3. Shawn MacKENZIE
    June 1, 2013

    Good luck with the launch, Niamh…reblogging to spread the word…

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 1, 2013

      Many thanks Shawn. I will be posting my thanks to all those involved in this process soon.

      Like

  4. Shawn MacKENZIE
    June 1, 2013

    Reblogged this on MacKENZIE's Dragonsnest and commented:
    For those looking for smart, fun books for children…..

    Like

  5. Patricia Tilton
    June 1, 2013

    Niamh, like that the books are in rhyme. Marta’s illustrations are stunning in black and white with a touch of color. Love the focus on the natural world. Happy book launch!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 1, 2013

      I have, thanks to all of you I consulted, now got two little books I am really happy with in every way. Thanks Patricia. If ever you feel like reviewing them, please let me know.

      Like

      • Patricia Tilton
        June 1, 2013

        I imagine they’ve changed since I reviewed them. Yes, I’ll review them. I didn’t see the second book.

        Like

      • ontheplumtree
        June 1, 2013

        Many thanks Patricia. I will send them to you.

        Like

  6. Nancy Bealmear Adams
    June 1, 2013

    Are you going to be using a retailer in the States? Good luck and happy launch day, by the way!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 1, 2013

      Thank you Nancy. I will be selling on line for now via the website. Thanks for asking.

      Like

  7. the secret keeper
    June 1, 2013

    This Post looks great. The books are sensational. I am going to post/reblog/share on “the secret keeper” and my FB page and on Tumblr. Niamh and Marta you did an exceptionally creative merging. Good Luck. Jk

    Like

  8. the secret keeper
    June 1, 2013

    Reblogged this on the secret keeper and commented:
    If you are looking for inspiring books for your young charges, the Pa Dug & Rosie Series is where to find them. Great story. Great Rhyming. Something that will help children learn more easily. The books are filled will fun & joy & something a child will find within, a great deal of enthusiasm about books. A good track for any child to discover. Jk the secret keeper.

    Like

  9. mapelba
    June 1, 2013

    Reblogged this on writing in the water and commented:
    I’m reblogging the post from my publisher. These books are written by Niamh Clune and illustrated by me! And now they are launched. Hurray!

    Like

  10. mapelba
    June 1, 2013

    I’ve reblogged this post to help get the word out. Hope it helps a bit! Congratulations on all your hard work.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 1, 2013

      Many thanks Marta. Let’s hope we get some sales!

      Like

      • mapelba
        June 1, 2013

        Concentrating many wishes on that being so.

        Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 1, 2013

      I will reblog your post during the week to keep things going. I should do an interview with you also from the perspective of doing the illustrations.

      Like

  11. Pingback: Pa Dug & Rosie In The Garden Series | West Coast Review

  12. Darlene
    June 2, 2013

    Good luck with these adorable books.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 2, 2013

      Many thanks Darlene. And many thanks for your help as a beta reader!

      Like

  13. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME
    June 2, 2013

    Reblogged this on BUTTERFLIES OF TIME and commented:
    I just love children’s books!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      June 2, 2013

      I wonder if these might have appeal in India Reena? I don’t know how the cost stands up there. Many thanks for your comment and for the reblog!

      Like

  14. thiskidreviewsbooks
    June 2, 2013

    Congratulations! I tweeted about this! 😀

    Like

    • Niamh Clune
      June 3, 2013

      And tomorrow, these little books will be winging their way all the way from England to you in anticipation of your review!!!

      Like

  15. patriciasands
    June 3, 2013

    Delightful. Simply delightful!

    Like

  16. congratulations niamh was busy but this is such great news and the books look lovely have shared on my wall

    Like

Leave a Reply

