Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

DreamWeaver’s Corner With Dr. Niamh Clune: The Magic of Indwelling.

HerculesSlayingHydra

What is the magic of indwelling and what do I mean by that? 
Dream language is symbol, metaphor, aphorism, expressed in images. Paradox is in-woven, threaded through every aspect of the image, the colour, atmosphere and quality. A dreamed or meditative image often shape-shifts. Understanding should be exciting and challenging, part of personal growth and self-discovery. Such images are Ariadne’s Threads leading us deep within Psyche into subterranean, unexpressed feelings and emotions.

For example: a bogey-man chasing us might be terrifying. We cannot run, escape or hide. A later visit to that image might, however, yield a moment of catharsis or enlightenment. This is where indwelling comes in. We cannot achieve a deep understanding of our image through observation or deduction. Only by entering into the soul of the image might we achieve recognition. Returning to an image consciously, we re-enter the moment of the dream, its raison d’etre, on the level on which it has meaning. Facing the bogeyman, we can enter into a dialogue. It is extraordinary how it morphs into something else, unexpected, which usually brings forth a flood of emotion. It describes an event that made us feel emotional, the thrust of which was buried in everyday ordinary life.

We should not fear our images or emotions, even though they threaten to overwhelm us. This is the stuff of the unconscious, the dark sprit allowed into the brightness of day, the many-headed Hydra whose heads only re-grow in triplicate should we fight, attempting to sever them. Rather, we are successful only in surrender, by lifting The Hydra to the sun; then her snake-like tentacles shrivel and die.

The images that live inside us are communicators of soul – great material to the writer and artist, food for the philosopher, inspiration for Psychotherapists such as Carl Jung and all manner of works of genius. Shouldn’t we pay them attention?

Copyright Niamh Clune 2013

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

6 comments on “DreamWeaver’s Corner With Dr. Niamh Clune: The Magic of Indwelling.

  1. Cassie
    May 6, 2013

    Reblogged this on Devil's Advocate and commented:
    Exploring and integrating our our darker or shadow sides is an important aspect of Satanic belief an practice. This article gives an intelligent insight as to why this is useful.

    Like

  2. the secret keeper
    May 7, 2013

    Reblogged this on the secret keeper and commented:
    DreamWeaver’s Corner with Dr. Niamh Clune is the place to visit if you want to learn the real truth about dreams. How to communicate with your soul through the symbols that come from the unconscious when you dream. There have been several posts so far that take you through many elements about dreams that you may have thought you knew but this is a whole different way of looking at what dreams really are. “We should not fear our images or emotions, even though they threaten to overwhelm us. This is the stuff of the unconscious…”Follow this reblog back to On The Plum Tree and read the most recent DreamWeaver’s Corner and if you find intriguing what you discover then investigate further to see previous posts of DreamWeaver’s Corner with Dr. Niamh Clune. While you are there you will also discover a wonderful source of creativity of all kinds. Investigate and find the artistic and magical and mystical. I highly recommend the On The Plum Tree. I visit there all the time. Do take the time. You will value the opportunity and find art and enlightenment all at the same time. Jk the secret keeper

    Like

  3. the secret keeper
    May 7, 2013

    I have reblogged DreamWeaver’s Corner with a message that will come back. Also, left you a message on the DW Corner on PTBs last night. It is such a brilliant post. And I am looking forward to the next. TY for your response to my dream. Jennifer

    Like

  4. thiskidreviewsbooks
    May 7, 2013

    I like your message! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

