Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

DreamWeaver’s Corner with Dr. Niamh Clune: Do you dream in horse?

fantasy horse black in the ocean waves

Dreaming of animals often represents instincts. The quality expressed by the dreamed beast is important: How it appears in a dream signifies its condition, its force within, its message to your conscious world. If raging, devouring, wounded, tortured or chasing you, it might be telling you something just as important as if it were strong, dynamic, powerful. For example, a horse usually represents spirit, driving force, a way of moving forward. It can also represent balance, as it is part tame, part wild. Perhaps in a woman, it represents the animus or contra-sexual aspect of the feminine, or in a man, it can represent pure animal power.

An example adapted from The Coming Of The Feminine Christ (First Published 1998)

I dreamed I was in the house of my soul. It was a cottage by the sea. I had been called away from the work I had been doing in the world. The call came from an invisible yet absolutely superior force. Suddenly a storm blew. The winds howled and raged and beat on the windows. The rain was a battering ram besieging my door. I tried with all my puny might to bolt the door against the elemental raging of the storm. The more I tried, the angrier blew the storm. It called out to me to leave my cottage and go down to the ocean to meet it. If I did not, it would destroy my house. Though terrified, I did as I was bidden.

As I approached the beach, a tidal wave rose out of the ocean. It was a wall of thundering, crashing power. I stood in terror, unable to move. Then I noticed that a horse’s head peaked the wave. Its mass had become the snow-white body of a stallion. Its hooves were about to pound down and crush me.

It was the giant rider at the helm of an ocean of light. All the waves that made up its vanguard were of pure white stallions frothing and foaming and stampeding all before them. My terror turned to awe, then to admiration. The stallion’s power was magnificent. Its beauty alone had power enough to tear me apart with heart-wrenching yearning. I was helpless to do anything other than stand in silent praise. Just then, in the moment of recognition and surrender to my impending doom, a beam of light flashed from my brow and pierced the great stallion between the eyes. There was a flashing forth of recognition. It knew me. Its hooves arrested. The magical horn of the unicorn flashed from the brow of the stallion and pierced my heart.

The unicorn receded into the foam from whence it came leaving a carpet of white flowers everywhere he had been.

The unconscious is full of rich paradox. Prophetic dreams weave in and out of parallel realities, called by some, dimensions. In one dimension, the dream may appear negative, foretelling loss and destruction and raising our worst fears to reality. That same dream, in another dimension may indicate deep and life-changing transformation. Synchronistic dreams speak not only to psychic reality but also, to physical reality. Though the giant stallion was a manifestation of my own spirit, it also represented the full power of outer circumstances that were threatening to crash down on me.

© Niamh Clune

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

9 comments on “DreamWeaver’s Corner with Dr. Niamh Clune: Do you dream in horse?

  1. Pingback: DreamWeaver’s Corner with Dr. Niamh Clune: Do you dream in horse? | West Coast Review

  2. DiAnne Ebejer
    April 29, 2013

    Reblogged this on DiAnne's Place II.

    Like

  3. Patricia Tilton
    April 29, 2013

    That was very interesting. And, your dream very powerful and positive! I can’t recall animals in my dreams — or just don’t remember. Will have to be more observant.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      April 29, 2013

      Thank you Patricia. Animals are only one of the significant things we dream about. There are so many more.

      Like

  4. thiskidreviewsbooks
    April 29, 2013

    Interesting. I have never dreamed of animals though. Maybe DAY-dream, but not dream-dream.

    Like

  5. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME
    April 30, 2013

    Beautiful interpretation of a powerful dream!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      April 30, 2013

      many thanks Butterflies. I only use this as an example of how dreaming about animals might have particular significance. In actual fact, this dream had many layers of meaning, too much to go into here, and played out exactly as foretold.

      Like

Leave a Reply

