Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

Creative Kid Thursday! Meet Kid Author Emma Wosje!

What a talented young lady! I love this art. Well done Emma and Erik for posting this. Great interview.

This Kid Reviews Books

Today’s Creative Kid has a ton of talent! Meet Emma Wosje, author and illustrator of the book “Red the Cardinal.”

Emma2Red the Cardinal

Red the Cardinal

By Emma Wosje

Published on Lulu.com by Emma Wosje on January 31, 2013

24 pages – ages 5+

Red the Cardinal has a great message that kids and adults will love (and the cover art is awesome)!

The mean Mr. Oris, a horned owl, keeps stealing Red the cardinal’s food. Red is upset, and takes his frustrations out by makes things hard for a couple of house finches nearby. Red learns that just because YOU are bullied, doesn’t mean that you can bully others!

Emma was nice enough to answer some questions about herself!

mr90043940713.jpg How old are you and in what grade?

Emma2

I am in 5th grade and I am 11 years old.

mr90043940713.jpg HEY! Me too! Which do you like better, writing or illustrating?

View original post 421 more words

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

8 comments on “Creative Kid Thursday! Meet Kid Author Emma Wosje!

  1. thiskidreviewsbooks
    April 26, 2013

    Thank you for reblogging this! 😀

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      April 26, 2013

      My absolute pleasure. I love what you are doing to promote other children’s writing and art.

      Like

  2. JLBCreatives
    April 26, 2013

    Brilliant!!! Thanks for sharing 😉

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      April 26, 2013

      Lovely to see you Janet. I am developing a kiddie’s circuit. Great way of sharing children’s books.

      Like

  3. the secret keeper
    April 28, 2013

    There should be a way of liking reblogs. I visited Erik’s blog today and read his interview with Emma Wosje. How impressive a young person is Emma and Erik for discovering her to interview. Her art shows great potential. I especially loved her owl & the last flower that she drew, the lines were draw with such definition and delicacy. She knows already in 5th grade she wants to be an illustrator, a writer and she want to play field hockey when she gets to the age when she creates a career for herself. She is fabulous and Erik did a great interview. I am impressed with both of these young people. I wish them luck for their futures. Somehow, I feel they have it under control. Let the opportunities be on their side. Thanks for reblogging this. I know that I have read Erik’s comments here On The Plum Tree. He has such a magnificent sense of the creative and great potential that I feel will keep growing. Hopefully, Erik will be able to read what I have written here but I did leave him a message on his own blog. I am truly impressed with such talent from Erik and Emma. Thank you all. It makes me feel good there are future writers working at a young age toward the goals they have set already for their future. Well done. Jennifer jk the SK

    Like

  4. the secret keeper
    April 28, 2013

    One thing that I want to say to Niamh Clune. It is great that you are making young people’s goals important. And showing them that you believe in their potential. Showing them encouragement is so important and you are making it so. For Erik to have someone in his corner as you Niamh, will definitely help him make a stronger foundation upon which to grow. Brava. Erik, you have a great supporter in Niamh Clune. But somehow I think and feel you have already figured that out. I am now following you Erik. I hope you to see how you develop into the future you. Regards, Jennifer jk the SK 🙂

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      April 28, 2013

      Actually, I have a great supporter in Erik! I am learning from him. He knows more about the current world of kiddie-land than I do! And he has great taste. Many thanks Jennifer.

      Like

  5. patriciasands
    April 28, 2013

    Lovely! What a talented young lady. Thanks so much for sharing this and I will now pass it on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

