Dr Niamh's Plum Tree Creative Community

Who is on the plum tree?

All The Lonely People: Poems From Around The World.

Each week, I will feature a poem from one of our contributing authors to our recent All The Lonely People Anthology. To date, our anthology has received almost 2, 500 views, which shows just how much interest there is in this complex and often overlooked subject.

We begin with a wonderful poem by DiAnne Ebejer. As it defines Loneliness, I though this a great place to begin this heuristic exploration into this subject.

You can click DiAnne’s name to connect with this wonderful poet (and person) on Facebook. DiAnne’s blog details are at the end f her post.

 Thank you DiAnne for your beautiful, well constructed words.

Lone·li-ness

A Loneliness Woman by Victor - Sao Carlos, BR

A Loneliness Woman by Victor – Sao Carlos, BR

DiAnne Ebejer

[lohn-lee-ness]

adjective, lone·li·est. lone-li-er

affected with, characterized by, or causing a depressing feeling of being alone; lonesome.

Loneliness is uttering a cry from the depths of your core

and seldom if ever getting a response.

Only loneliness may hold the ruling omnipotence

as the cruelest emotion of them all.

Never warm inside looking out, loneliness thrives only

on the frigid outside longing for a way in.

Ever the demon, loneliness wears the face that

reminds you of all that is missing.

Loneliness is never having to say you’re happy.

In loneliness you hear only silence above the laughter,

see only darkness on the pathway to light.

Never-ending herculean struggles ensue just

to face loneliness in each new day.

Endless replays in a world of sorrow and isolation

facilitate a wayward drift into the well of depression.

Stark as winter trees, the vision in the world of

loneliness is barren of all fullness and color.

Shadow eyes, always outstretched, always

out-cried, leave bare the soul of loneliness.©

http://diannesplaceblog.wordpress.com

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

22 comments on “All The Lonely People: Poems From Around The World.

  1. Sangeeta Talwar Suneja
    April 14, 2013

    Congrats!! Niamh keep the good work on. I am proud to be associated with you.
    It would be an honor for me to be part of your future projects.

    Like

  2. Uncle Tree
    April 14, 2013

    Dear DiAnne, Niamh is correct in her assessment.
    You have defined loneliness in such a way…
    such a way as I have never seen before! Truly, your
    thoroughness in ‘spelling it out’ allows me to imagine
    the depths and the hurt of isolation, such as I have never before felt.

    I pray you weren’t speaking from experience, but if that is true,
    then I’ll pray you never have to feel that way again.

    God bless. Peace, Keith

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      April 14, 2013

      A lovely comment, Keith. I am sure that DiAnne will be delighted with what you have said.

      Like

    • DiAnne Ebejer
      April 14, 2013

      Many thanks for your lovely comments Uncle Tree! So very thoughtful of you. 🙂

      Like

  3. BUTTERFLIES OF TIME
    April 14, 2013

    A poem that describes the state so well “Loneliness is uttering a cry from the depths of your core
    and seldom if ever getting a response” That first line is so powerfully true. Thank you Niamh for this wonderful collection and for featuring this wonderful poem by DiAnne Ebejer on the blog.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      April 14, 2013

      And I look forward to sharing your lovely words here, Butterflies!

      Like

  4. patriciasands
    April 14, 2013

    Powerful, painful words that expose the core of loneliness and vividly paint the picture.

    Like

  5. DiAnne Ebejer
    April 14, 2013

    Thank you Niamh for featuring “Loneliness” as the first in the series of poems to be featured from the “All The Lonely People” anthology. I so look forward to the other wonderful poems that will be featured!

    Like

  6. DiAnne Ebejer
    April 14, 2013

    Reblogged this on DiAnne's Place II.

    Like

  7. Irene Gowins-Sowells
    April 14, 2013

    I read it twice while reading the Anthology, and again, I’m still in awe! Such a great poem…

    Like

  8. Sue Lobo
    April 14, 2013

    DiAnne, you hit the soul with this poem so beautifully written, really poignant, well done.

    Like

  9. Pingback: All The Lonely People: Poems From Around The World. | West Coast Review

  10. the secret keeper
    April 15, 2013

    Intense is your look into loneliness and the depth of despair and emptiness it awakens in one’s soul. You have cleverly used the letters to elaborate on each phase that loneliness creates when it crushes our hope at finding a resolution that will enable one to escape its clutches. It catches us all off guard and sneaks up behind us. Trapping our sensibilities in emotional pain. Casting us out from those who might console us into the crowd of all the other lonely people who are caught in the web of an ever circling round of quiet when you want to hear an inviting voice. Noise, when there are no words that are being spoken to you. Aloneness that does not bring on a creative moment but instead the moments are prolonged and filled with an emptiness of people one can relate to or who are even interested or unable to relate to anyone. When lonely there is no one to relate to. No one to reach out to in the middle of the night that will hear sound making words that give meaning to something to someone outside of our self. You have conveyed such a biting glimpse and sense of loneliness that no one ever wants to experience but often do on a regular basis. It is something that needs to be given attention and a solution needs to be created to eliminate or diminish these feelings in a human race that has such an enormous number of people who live in loneliness when there are so many who live on this planet. It seems an anomaly to me that such a condition should exist at all. It seems an absurdity. Look at what has been done to create ways for people who feel suicidal. There are places and people they can reach out to 24/7. It may not be a total solution but it does prevent some suicides from ever occurring. Why then can’t we do the same to help with the loneliness of all ages from young and old and in between. Well, done DiAnne. It is a profound statement you make in your poem and technically well structured and an original way to present your thoughts and feelings on such a difficult and painful condition. Great poem. Jennifer jk

    Like

  11. Russel Ray Photos
    April 24, 2013

    Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

