Dr Niamh's Plum Tree Creative Community

Who is on the plum tree?

So What!

flowers by lexi sundell

and so what!

what if we
All crave
recognition?
what if we
All need
to be seen?
what if being seen is being exalted
for just one passing moment?
when I open my soul
and give my all,
when I reach
into my core,
what if that is how it is meant to be?
what if that need
is the yearning soul
needing to share
its beauty,
give its essence
bestow its fragrance
its lofty thought
to raise us above bondage and limitation
to give us sight of the ineffable beauty
innate in us All?
this is more than a birthright
it is the truth of who we are…
isn’t that why we post our poems
to be seen
for the best we can be
to unlock the beauty
in you
and in me?

without this,
we are alone.

copyright 2013 Niamh Clune

omaggio al sole scannerizzata_page_001

sunflowers by Maria Antonietta Terrana.

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

14 comments on “So What!

  1. mapelba
    March 18, 2013

    Glad you’re taking the time to write. It’s important.

    Like

  2. Patricia Tilton
    March 18, 2013

    When I first began reading your poem, I thought of the “glamour” within us. But, as I read on, you unexpectedly took me deep within the soul and soul’s need to express itself through beauty. Beautiful!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      March 18, 2013

      yes, stripped of glamour to the pure underlying need of soul to be allowed into life.

      Like

  3. Uncle Tree
    March 18, 2013

    But…but…but, alone is okay. (?)
    That’s when I do my best work.
    I thought, therefore, I was.

    Impressed, I am!
    Sincerely,
    Keith
    🙂

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      March 18, 2013

      yes alone, but lonely too. many thanks, always lovely to see you here.

      Like

  4. DiAnne Ebejer
    March 19, 2013

    Yes, yes, and yes! ♥

    Like

  5. DarKarsean
    March 19, 2013

    This is a fantastic poem Niamh. Thank you. Tony

    Like

  6. the secret keeper
    March 25, 2013

    All need
    to be seen?
    what if being seen is being exalted
    for just one passing moment?
    when I open my soul
    and give my all,
    when I reach
    into my core

    There is so much honesty, vulnerability in your writing. We do feel this need, as you illuminate with every word of your poem. I chose this passage to expose in myself what you so openly observe throughout your verse. May I apologize for not noticing sooner that you posted this poem. I do love your poetry, this one especially touches that core in me as it does I would believe in all who open up their insides to be seen. Your poem is so brilliant and the poet in you is a seer of great dimensions that which is within herself and in others. Thank you for expressing your vision so generously. a.l. jk

    Like

Leave a Reply

