Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

Plum Tree Books Feature: Fabulous Betty Dravis

Betty pearls

Betty Dravis was one of the contributing authors to our Plum Tree Books Every Child is Entitled to Innocence anthology to which Betty Dravis generously contributed a sweet, happy story of childhood.childhood coverplum

 In this week’s Plum Tree Books feature, I would like to introduce you to the lady herself. 

What can I say about Betty? In fact, it might be an easier question to ask what can’t I say about Betty? I could list superlatives such as fabulous, amazing, inspiring, but I guess I had better tell you why I think those things about this (here I go again) wonderful lady. To tell you that she has the magic to bring grown men to their knees in obeisance is not an exaggeration. In fact, she has us all trying to please her. Betty is the queen of the social network, make no mistake about that!

If you knew Betty, it would not surprise you to know that she has even managed a coup in the the new e-publishing industry. She captivated the heart of e-book sensation, John Locke, whom she asked to write the foreword for her e-book, Star Struck. It is an apt title. How could John refuse? He is a mere mortal – a satellite in Betty’s orbit! No one says no to Betty! We are all a little in love with her, rapt by her talent, charm, drive, energy and determination that puts those of us who feel old to shame.

Betty is one of those eternally young spirits in the shape of the great, grand dame that remind many of us of how fairy god-mothers ought to be. Not even Clint Eastwood could say no to her. In her days as a Hollywood journalist, she interviewed him and that interview, along with many others pertaining to the glitterati is to be found in Betty’s book: Starstruck starstruck

Such an interview as this might phase most mere mortals but not Betty. She herself is a celebrity. She is used to ‘walking the talk,’ and hobnobbing with the stars. She treats stars and minions alike. In her capacity as a reviewer of others, Betty is generous, always honest and not afraid to rave about someone else’s work when deserved. When Betty praises the lucky, she elevates them, inviting them to enter celestial realms. In fact, Betty wrote a stunning review for one of my own books: Orange Petals In A Storm in which she named me “The female Pat Conroy.” Doesn’t get much better than that!

orange_rose1.p

Betty has literally hundreds of reviews that tell us how good are her books. I don’t need to quote them here. You can check them out for yourself on Amazon.

Now Betty has entered into a new venture with fellow author: Barbara Watkins. They have doubled up to produce Six Pack of Blood, a supernatural/horror collection of short stories and the recently released follow-up, Six-Pack Of Fear.six pack

Here’s to you, Betty Dravis: retired newspaper publisher; career journalist; host of  a Cable TV talk show; celebrity interviewer; author of seven books; author of three short stories that were consistent best-sellers in the Amazon Shorts program.

Let us not forget that Betty is also a proud mother of 6 children (2 are now angels), 9 grands, 5 greats and one great-great grandchild…Phew!

If you are in the mood for a little chill, check out Betty’s and Barbara’s new collaboration. 

 

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

17 comments on “Plum Tree Books Feature: Fabulous Betty Dravis

  1. DiAnne Ebejer
    January 31, 2013

    Hats off to the always fascinating Betty and to you for a great feature article!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      January 31, 2013

      Many thanks DiAnne.

      Like

    • Betty Dravis
      February 1, 2013

      I’m overwhelmed, Diane. What a wonderful welcome back after being offline a few days (seems like an eternity)… Thanks for your kind comment. Keep rocking! ❤

      Like

  2. barbienell
    January 31, 2013

    Niamh – Loving this article honoring our dear friend, Betty Dravis! I fully agree with everything that you said – she’s a remarkable woman indeed! Her accomplishments in the field of entertainment/writing are tremendous! She inspires me everyday to set my goals to the highest in writing, and in my life. It’s an absolute honor to have worked with her and a blessing to call her my dearest friend.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      January 31, 2013

      Such a lovely friend to have, Barbara. Good luck to both of you with your fabulous publications.

      Like

    • Betty Dravis
      February 1, 2013

      Ah-hhh, here is my faithful, loving co-author, Barbara. Always on hand to support and encourage me, too. We are so fortunate to have joined forces in two books and found that we had the chemistry to make it work. A more devoted, true-blue, talented friend one could never find! I am so lucky… Isn’t it great to have the very gifted humanitarian and writer Dr. Niamh Clune in our corner? Wow! ❤

      Like

  3. Darlene
    February 1, 2013

    I love reading about amazing women like Betty. What a wonderful role model!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      February 1, 2013

      Many thanks for your visit, Darlene.

      Like

    • Betty Dravis
      February 1, 2013

      Hi, Darlene, I’m so pleased to meet you. Hope you will befriend me on FB, if you can. Thanks for your kind words. I love meeting new peeps. ❤

      Like

  4. Betty Dravis
    February 1, 2013

    Wow, Niamh, I can’t believe you did it again! You guys spoil me rotten, but what amazing insight you have to write this very complimentary blog about me at a time when I haven’t been online due to online connectivity problems. I was fretting you would all forget me… In one day??? Thanks for keeping my brand alive.

    You and others like you have created a monster. I’m taking your Queen of the Social Networks very seriously. You all have branded me “something special” and I’m running with it. I am beginning to believe mine and your hype about me! 🙂 You will see why I say this when you see what I’m up to next. I will be posting it on my blog soon… I hope you all like it.

    While here, I must say I love your new ORANGE PETALS IN A STORM cover; an amazing and inspirational book. Congrats on all your success.

    Your FUNKY QUEEN!

    Hugs – Betty ❤

    Like

  5. Betty Dravis
    February 1, 2013

    I know you mean it, Niamh. You’re one of the best out there! I take these awesome things people say about me and HYPE them myself, though! Like I say, you have created a monster! Luv you, gf. ❤

    Like

  6. the secret keeper
    February 2, 2013

    What a marvelous presentation Niamh. I love hearing your story about a person with such a fascinating life. Betty Dravis’ book Star Struck intrigues me. I have seen her around here quite a bit. I agree with Betty that your new cover for Orange Petals In a Storm looks perfect. You found just the right bloom. I wish Ms. Betty Dravis and Ms. Barbara Watkins good luck with their books. Another generous post Niamh. Well done. jk

    Like

  7. Joanna Lee Doster
    February 3, 2013

    Niamh, your glowing tribute to the remarkable, unique, and rare individual Betty Dravis was so spot-on and so true that I can’t stop shaking my head agreeing with you. To try and encapsulate the immense qualities that this lovely lady possesses is would take forever and a day. We are all satellites revolving around Betty’s Sun. We derive our strength and drive from herawe-inspiring gifts and energy. Your brilliant description and analysis of the Grand Dame Betty Dravis deserves full blown kudos and BRAVOS !!!! Great job! Here’s to you Niamh for a job so well done!!! Thank you again!!!! Best always, Joanna

    Like

    • Betty Dravis
      February 3, 2013

      Oh, wow, Joanna, you always blow my mind with your kind, caring, loving words. Now I have another fabulous description to “flaunt,” as is my habit. You know the old saying, “If you got it, flaunt it?” (My sis used to always say that; you know, Billie Jean, the star of my 1106 Grand Boulevard book for which you wrote the most glowing review ever)?

      I have a collection of awesome things that you very kind writer peers have written about me. I must collect them in one place and show them off from time to time. And I do that, as Dr. Niamh can witness by how I take her precious words, like “Betty has the magic to bring grown men to their knees in obeisance” and “Queen of the Social Media” and flaunt them all over the Net. I also use them in my videos.

      I hope no one thinks I am vain or conceited because I bask in the praise… It may seem that way to those who don’t know me, but like Niamh says, I treat everyone equally and love you all: famous and non-famous. All life forms are to be celebrated…and you are all celebrities to me.

      What really bowls me over is that all you precious, gifted people who write such awesome things about me are the best in your own fields…and many have achieved much greater things in life.

      Joanna, you bring tears to my old eyes when you say: “We are all satellites revolving around Betty’s Sun.”

      Thank you, Joanna and Niamh, for making my day on this fine SuperBowl afternoon! I must say, I feel like you are suns around which I revolve because you give me warmth and light.

      Hugs – Betty ❤

      Like

      • ontheplumtree
        February 3, 2013

        Yes! Joanna is so special and generous to us all.

        Like

  8. I just love Betty she is a wonderful person, and I am so happy to know her as my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

