Dr Niamh's Plum Tree Creative Community

Who is on the plum tree?

Plum Tree Books Feature: Joanna Lee Doster

JoannaIntroducing Joanna Lee Doster, the wonderful author of  Maximum Speed a “behind-the scenes look at adrenaline-pumping excitement of stock car racing.”  

Joanna’s background in cable television, communications and the entertainment industry obviously helped her in the writing of both her publications, the second of which is entirely different in style.

Celebrity Bedroom Retreats  showcases a variety of bedroom styles, from simple meditative Zen spaces to garden-inspired chinoiseries. Joanna possesses obvious style and elegance. So this is definitely a book to be added to my reading list.

Joanna is a wonderful and prolific reviewer of other people’s books. 

She has reviewed exceptional authors such as Betty Dravis, Barbara Watkins, Ashley Fontainne and DeAnn Townes. You can view all of Joanna’s reviews here.

I have to say, I was profoundly grateful to Joanna for the wonderful review she gave me for The Coming Of The Feminine Christ!

the coming coverIn her 5 star review, Joanna described the book as: A Spiritual Journey Of Discovery.

“I was profoundly affected after reading “The Coming of the Feminine Christ.” It is so well written and thought provoking that Dr. Clune’s thesis on her life’s spiritual journey can only be categorized as a unique magical discourse on life and its meaning. It encompasses the metaphysical, philosophical, psychological, spiritual, and supernatural, all rolled into a dialogue of such staggering intellectual concepts, theories and musings, that it was like reading the Bible, The Iliad and The Odyssey, and or Galileo. Dr. Clune’s grasp of human behavior and her keen ability to dissect her own life goes above and beyond what I have ever read before. The reader discovers so many fascinating things about Dr. Clune’s life, and its painful ramifications. It’s how she applies her extra-strength resolve to reset her psyche and to rechannel her past painful experiences, that is so awe inspiring. I am still reeling from the author’s otherworldly experiences and the ways she adapted them into her everyday life. Kudos to Dr. Clune for writing such an epic treatise and for allowing readers to be voyeurs into her psychological journey of discovery.”

What can I say, Joanna, other than I cannot equate such praise with my humble effort. But thank you!

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

10 comments on “Plum Tree Books Feature: Joanna Lee Doster

  1. Betty Dravis
    January 24, 2013

    Reading this is like reading The Queen of England interviewing The First Lady of the United States. What I mean by this is that both the interviewer and the interviewee are both exceptionally brilliant, loving and elegant women… Both accomplished in the literary field.

    Niamh, this is a delightful review. I’m pleased to learn of Joanna’s entertainment industry credits.. I am already familiar with her MAXIMUM SPEED book and her CELEBRITY BEDROOM RETREATS. I have both in my collection. I’ve reviewed MS, but not CBR. I was bowled over by some of the bedrooms. One famous fashion designer’s bedroom looks larger than my whole house. 🙂 And you just must see the priceless murals on his walls. The photos in this book are a huge bonus to the exquisite writing of Joanna Lee Doster. Sadly, I was disappointed in Cher’s bedroom…but those interested must see for themselves.

    It was also gratifying to read Joanna’s review of your COMING OF THE FEMININE CHRIST. I have that book, also, but it’s so in-depth, I’m waiting for a quieter time to read…and digest…it. From all I hear, it’s masterful, as only you can be.

    Hugs and thanks – Betty Dravis

    Like

  2. Joanna Lee Doster
    January 24, 2013

    Dear Niamh, I am so touched and humbled by your glowing tribute. Wow! You are so kind and generous in your praise of me and i just want to let you know that I am in awe of all that you do for others and all that you accomplish. It is more than amazing. You are such a rare and spectacular person who touches all of our lives profoundly! Thank from the bottom of my heart for your wonderful tribute. I shall always cherish it. Always, Joanna.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      January 24, 2013

      It is not enough to do you justice or to praise your generosity of spirit.

      Like

  3. barbienell
    January 24, 2013

    This is an exceptional review, Niamh – an exceptional review of a lady full of class and grace. I was introduced to Joanna by way of our mutual friend, Betty Dravis – whom I also adore, and as with Betty, I too felt an instant connection with our dear, Joanna.

    Her book, Maximum Speed, is truly a remarkable read – kept me on the edge of my seat! I look forward to reading her latest work, as I know it too will be phenomenal.

    Hugs and love – Barbara

    my seat! I so look forward to reading her latest literary work.

    Like

  4. Barbara Watkins
    January 25, 2013

    I posted a comment from my droid a few hours ago, but it has since mysteriously disappeared! LOL) Just wanted to say – Bravo, Niamh, bravo on delivering a most interesting interview with our dear, Joanna! I was introduced to Joanna through a mutual friend of ours, Betty Dravis, whom by the way I adore. I cannot give enough praise about this talented writer, loyal friend, and loving soul.

    From the minute I started reading, ‘Maximum Speed’ I was hooked. Her writing style draws the reader in, then continues to capture your complete attention until the very end. And as you said, Joanna is always quick to help a fellow author out by reading and giving an honest review of their work. She is truly an inspiration to me and I’m sure to many, many of her fellow writer’s as well.

    Thank you, Niamh – thank you for sharing this wonderful blog with us. I’m honored to call each of you precious ladies my friend…

    Barbara

    Like

  5. Joanna Lee Doster
    January 25, 2013

    Dear Barbara, I am so overwhelmed by your wonderful words of praise for me. How kind and lovely of you to take the time to single me out. It is I who is bowled over by your huge talent as a prolific and gifted writer. I’m still reeling from the magnitude and depth of your imagination ..especially after reading your latest hit of short stories, “Six Pack of Fear “with the incomparable Betty Dravis …your co-author extraordinaire or as I like to call you two powerhouses of bone chillin’ terror.
    Your writing is riveting in whatever style you write in. Best always,Joanna

    Like

  6. the secret keeper
    January 27, 2013

    How did I miss this post? It must have been when my computer crashed. It is always good to hear about another author who shows such generosity. Being a strong supporter of the book The Coming of the Feminine Christ, I am so impressed with Joanna Lee Doster’s review of Niamh Clune’s book. Her description hits many important points that makes this books such an important book to read. It is comparable to the other important books that she mentioned such as The Illiad, The Odyssey, the (King James Version) of the Bible and if Da Vinci were alive today, he would be knocked over by how amazing Dr. Clune’s book is. It opens not only the mind but the heart and the soul. It is a companion book that must be invoked often to receive a renewal whenever opened to be read again or to search out certain passages to inspire one.

    If Joanna Lee Doster can see this in The Coming of the Feminine Christ than I think I need to check out her writing. With such insight, she must also write with a clarity that should be impressive also. When I was a kid I was taken to the stock car races and found them to be extremely exciting. I wonder what kind of intrigue I will find in Maximum Speed. I will just have to discover that for myself. jk

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      January 28, 2013

      Many thanks for your comments, Jennifer. I am sure that Joanna will love your comments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

