Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

Plum Tree Books Takes Toddler Steps Into The Great Beyond!

top drawer

Tomorrow, I am venturing into the new world of Greetings Cards. I have been developing a beautiful range of cards using images from Marta Pelrine-Bacon and Maria Antonietta Terrana with a special image from Susie Bertie also. The cards are quality and gorgeous. They come with attachable poems… I am nervous but excited, as tomorrow, I am attending a leading trade show at London Olympia. Take a look:https://www.facebook.com/TopDrawerLondon

Starting a business is a scary thing. We have to begin somewhere…right? I will keep you all posted as to what I find out and the next steps towards making Plum Tree Books a huge success.

This is a fact-finding mission, but we are now registered and allowed to participate in this Trade only show. It feels as though it has taken a lot to get to this point already…Next year, I intend that Plum Tree Books will be at this Fair with our own exhibition stand, showing our cards with attachable poems, children’s books and special music. I want our Plum Tree Books range to compete with the best of them…

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

15 comments on “Plum Tree Books Takes Toddler Steps Into The Great Beyond!

  1. Pat
    January 13, 2013

    Good luck with your new business. I hope all goes well.
    I am sure you know exactly what you’re doing and how to do it but I offer this from my experience and hope it helps you.
    I had a retail art supplies business for a number of years (I just do a bit of my felt making now, not a ‘real business’ anymore). When I began, a friend – a retired accountant – told me to open an extra (savings) account and to put in it a percentage of everything I took (even if it was only tiny amounts) to cover the taxes and the accountant’s fees. It was the best piece of advice I was ever given. I followed it to the letter, adding a little more than the percentage required. I never had to worry about tax bills or accountancy fees and when I closed the business, there was a little nest egg left in there for me that was a delightful surprise.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      January 13, 2013

      Many thanks for your great advice, Pat. I hope the cards and children’s books which I have been developing over the past year will help sell the other things such as novels and music that we all do. I will keep you posted.

      Like

    • ontheplumtree
      January 13, 2013

      p.s each step of the way is a learning curve, so all help appreciated.

      Like

  2. thiskidreviewsbooks
    January 13, 2013

    Good luck! 🙂

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      January 13, 2013

      Oh! This first trip is just to find out what I need to do for next year. Thank you, Erik.

      Like

  3. Darlene
    January 13, 2013

    Best of luck with this new venture. I would hope the cards will be available for purshase on the Plum Tree website. You are full of surprises Niamh!!.

    Like

  4. the secret keeper
    January 13, 2013

    Good luck on Monday. It should be an adventure. Hope and wish it is successful in that you discover what you are looking for is there. 🙂 jennifer

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      January 14, 2013

      Just a fact-finding mission today to see how I can be there setting out my stall next year!

      Like

  5. the secret keeper
    January 14, 2013

    But there will be magic. Who knows what you will see or who you will meet. Hope it will be quite productive, jk 🙂

    Like

  6. kdsomerset
    January 15, 2013

    This sounds fabulous – a great next step. All the very best of luck!

    Like

  7. Patricia Tilton
    January 16, 2013

    A great vision. We’ll hold it for you!

    Like

  8. mapelba
    January 17, 2013

    I’ve been thinking about you a lot. I hope this went well!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      January 17, 2013

      It was more of a fact-finding/learning experience. It will take some time for me to get everything into place but I am feeling confident.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2013 by in Special Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
