Dr Niamh's Plum Tree Creative Community

Who is on the plum tree?

2013! What Do We Wish For?

fireworksI have seen New Years’ Eves come and go. Some have been celebrated; some not. This year, my dog will shake in terror, as fireworks pollute the skies,  their noisy explosions reminiscent of war.  Is that Bah Humbug? I should not resent others having fun, spending money on a split second of Kaboom, terrifying animals and further polluting the environment…should I?

New Year’s Eve used to be my favourite night of the year. I always felt it magical to be transported from one moment to another, carrying hope and a clear sense of how I might wish certain things to be as I visioned the future.  The idea of being allowed to turn my back on a year, walk away, let it be and let it go has always brought a sense of renewal.

My friend, Jennifer Kiley inspired my perspective for this blog. She scribed a Haiku on serendipity to which I replied. And I thought about how a second can change everything. The shift of one year to another is not quite serendipitous, but perhaps aspects of it could be, depending on how we move into the moment. I have to admit, 2012 was the most difficult year I have ever lived through…BUT as the clock strikes twelve, a split second bursts apart the moment; I step through the space into a new story. The last is torn, its pages discarded, left littering a previous street. The ripped fragments blow away like old confetti. That street is empty now, those bitter moments eradicated. I do not look back.

caught-in-the-wind-dezeen_bourrasque-by-paul-cocksedge-

caught-in-the-wind-dezeen_bourrasque-by-paul-cocksedge-

I always consult the I Ching at New Year and try to have a simple, spiritual ritual as one year leaves us to be replaced by another. Will next year be different to the last? Will the euphoric ending of another year be subdued by January drizzle? In the words of T.S.Elliot, Will it end, “not with a bang, but a whimper?”

It is a New Year.  May we love our families and friends and hold them near; may we prosper, enjoy good health and keep our souls intact! And may we share in a few serendipitous moments when everything becomes as it should, and in which change is possible!

What do you wish for?

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

19 comments on “2013! What Do We Wish For?

  1. the secret keeper
    December 31, 2012

    I love the wisdom and thought that went into this post. I , especially loved this passage: “BUT as the clock strikes twelve, a split second bursts apart the moment; I step through the space into a new story. The last is torn, its pages discarded, left littering a previous street. The ripped fragments blow away like old confetti. That street is empty now, those bitter moments eradicated. I do not look back.” That is a good way to advance into a new part of one’s life and moment in time. The second of change that brings about a completely different story that needs to be written by you and I think by me, also. I feel a renewing of freshness and energy readying itself to rush in like a river always allowing for the rocks along the way when it creates the roughness of life which is followed by the calmness that will surprise right up ahead. A time to gain your barings to steady yourself for the next bout of white water that you must face. It’s all a balance. Just be prepared to grab hold tight and you’ll make it through fine. I do believe you will. There’s an inner strength we sometimes forget that we have that has helped survive it all for this long. Happy New Year, My Friend. It will soon be the year 2013. I feel it will be quite the year for us all. a.l. jk 😉 cheers!!!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      December 31, 2012

      Many thanks for the time you give in responding to my posts, Jennifer. And, don’t worry, I got your other message about editing your post!

      Like

      • the secret keeper
        December 31, 2012

        Thank you. I am just finishing up and I was thinking about what you would think about my choice of this song I am adding to my post. I think it works. I had to reread it again. It is so incredible good. And that passage, I can just see you or myself or anyone with the courage to step through the portal of time and let the past fall behind and the pages blowing in the wind, discarded for they no longer matter. Thanks for taking care of my request. We are heading for a quest on the other side of the passage. It should be quite exciting and freeing. 😉 jk

        Like

  2. the secret keeper
    December 31, 2012

    Niamh, sorry but i forgot to end the quote at …I do not look back” That…would you plz. thnx. jk

    Like

  3. Uncle Tree
    December 31, 2012

    Once again, you have spelled it out to perfection, and back.
    Dear Niamh, your words express your feelings as well as ours.
    Our wishes are your wishes – for ev’ry man, woman, and child.

    Peace be with you as you go forth into the new year
    with your mission intact; with the past behind you,
    and your story close at hand, fresh and lively as ever!

    Saint Patrick and Rainbow Eyes brought us together in 2012.
    I pray the web, the net, the threads, and The Lights
    stay strong around us, between us, and beyond us!

    Meeting you and your friends has been a grand pleasure.
    I truly appreciate the help and support you’ve provided so freely!
    God bless you and yours in 2013 ~ Luvz & Hugz, Uncle Tree

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      December 31, 2012

      Uncle Tree, your words release the tears. You have no idea how much I appreciate your kindness right now.

      Like

      • loraneleavy
        December 31, 2012

        Uncle Tree has been the impetus for my shedding more than a few this past year, Niamh. Re: your post, I finally sat down and WROTE the other day – well, I tried. It occurs to me now, however, that I, too, was seeking – nay longing for – closure. I even used the word ‘passage’ – not as brilliantly as did you, but MY best shot at the moment. I left readers not with a breath of fresh 2013 air but rather a long, cleansing EXHALE – an invitation to ‘release’ in the form of a ‘scream’. (Were I as adept as you and Dory at astral walks and throwing the I Ching, I might have been able to conclude my literary year on a more effervescent note. But. Although ‘flat’, it’s the only ‘note’ I could play.)
        Scream we must, at times, however – it’s so fashionably ‘primal’ and seems to rent the blank/scribbled/typo-ed pages of no moment as effectively as did your tearing, reducing to confetti and blowing to be written on the wind – for/from another time. We sharpen our quills again (actually I await the arrival of my new “Surface” – in the hopes that it is indeed a reliable instrument as Lord knows its user is not) and begin. Quite superior to ‘ending’, don’t you think, Lovie? Lorane. . . .

        Like

      • ontheplumtree
        December 31, 2012

        Great to hear from you Lorane. I have no idea what has been g0ing on for you. I haven’t had a great year either. Let’s have a New Year. Hope it all eases.

        Like

      • loraneleavy
        December 31, 2012

        Had so many ‘house guests’ felt like a B & B. Clearing the air, rooms, baggage, tho. Have this great little frog sculpture – sits w/ legs crossed holding a cup of coffee. I call him “DO tell” & he’s the BEST listener. I hope to be ‘telling’ more starting now. Santa brought a voice-activated “Surface” so I can write AND do rehab exercises at same time. Be ‘talkin’ atcha’, Lorane. . . .

        Like

      • ontheplumtree
        December 31, 2012

        Yep! We all need great listeners.

        Like

  4. Patricia Tilton
    December 31, 2012

    A beautiful and inspiring post. I had just finished my meditation before I read your words and it made me reminded me about how similar lights are drawn together in love, purpose and vision. You have created a special place for a group of very bright lights whose talents abound. Wishing you a happy, healthy, and inspiring New Year! With love, Pat

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      December 31, 2012

      Thank you, Pat! Your words words are truly received with gratitude. I must say, I consider you one of the bright lights!

      Like

  5. patriciasands
    December 31, 2012

    “And may we share in a few serendipitous moments when everything becomes as it should, and in which change is possible!”
    Belief in the possibility of change is essential to fuel our hopes and dreams. We must keep that belief strong and forward-moving. Peace must be our ultimate goal … within us and without.
    Happy New Year to you and yours, Niamh!

    Like

  6. patgarcia
    January 1, 2013

    Hi,
    Happy New Year and thanks for the articles that I have enjoyed from your blog.
    I wish you all the best and much success in 2013.
    Take care.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      January 1, 2013

      Many Thanks, Patricia! Much appreciated. And thank you for your support!

      Like

  7. mapelba
    January 1, 2013

    I have mixed feelings about this new year. There are many things I’m looking forward to, but several things I’m worried about.

    Wishing you and all your efforts to be blessed in this new year.

    Like

  8. thiskidreviewsbooks
    January 1, 2013

    Happy 2013! Good luck in the writing/reading business! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

