Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

Post a Poem. How Do Books Make you Feel?

I love a book with dusty pages,
that speak to me of ancient sages,
with crafted words of such delight,
that time is stilled
as thoughts take flight,
transporting me
to other dreams,
where woven worlds and story streams,
transcend this time
and leave behind,
the beauty of eternal mind.

(C) copyright Niamh Clune 2012

How do books make you feel?

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

25 comments on “Post a Poem. How Do Books Make you Feel?

  1. DiAnne Ebejer
    October 8, 2012

    How I Feel About Books

    I love the feel of a book in my hand,

    The smell of an old book store is special and grand,

    Leafing through pages of a famous old mystery,

    I think of who’s read it – their thoughts – their history,

    You see, there’s much more there than just the book,

    You can travel the world without leaving your nook,

    Take any book down from your shelf,

    Learn something new about yourself.

    There are no boundaries within her covers,

    It’s a place for learners and dreamers and lovers,

    Yes, that’s the way books make me feel,

    Without books, my world just wouldn’t be real.

    © 2012 DiAnne Ebejer

    Like

  2. Ampat Koshy
    October 8, 2012

    I love books
    from my childhood
    that used to be kept in
    steel trunks, unlocked.
    Picture books,
    written for children,
    I really loved those books a lot!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 8, 2012

      Really special, those childhood books. Don’t they shape us and our imaginations? The power of a writer is immense.

      Like

  3. chrissiebrady
    October 8, 2012

    Pages that tell a tale, spin a yarn
    Can take my mind to other places
    Just as if my heart set sail
    Knowledge gained through words so wise
    Imagination sparked through great surprise
    Books are our treasured legacy
    Now my child reads the same as me
    Those that magicked my reading hours
    Now her thoughts with creativity showers
    Yea for words those special gifts
    That journeys us through hills and rifts

    Chrissie Morris Brady 8 10 12

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 8, 2012

      Lovely, Chrissie. Isn’t it great that our children can read the same books as me.

      Like

  4. Joseph Rinaldo
    October 8, 2012

    Travel unencumbered with reality
    Your wings spread wide
    New worlds
    New lives
    Observe
    Or play a part
    Feel the yearning to be…
    Anyone.

    Joe Rinaldo

    Like

  5. Walking with Beverley
    October 8, 2012

    Books

    books
    an aroma far exceeds,
    books can take me
    places, any land
    far or near,
    science ,
    encyclopedia,
    spirituality,
    funny tale,
    time travel
    to past
    present
    and future,
    ride the waves
    travel galaxies
    see the magic kingdom
    feel magical love,
    best of all
    you can read a book
    in your
    pj’s, princess gown,
    tuxedo
    or jeans,
    if you let it
    your book
    can be
    the rhythm
    of your heart beat…©

    beverley hoyles
    septe 10, 2012

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 8, 2012

      Lovely, Beverley! Where would we be without our books to accompany us through all of life’s journeys?

      Like

  6. Tonia Marie Houston
    October 8, 2012

    When the words came together
    and made worlds,
    the child found her grace,
    her heroes, her truths
    far beyond the twilight
    of adults who talked over
    her head and shouting matches
    in the beat between dark
    and tears.
    Slip under the sheets
    with a small light and a paperback.
    Ease and magic
    and knowledge-
    yes, that, too-

    A tender hand,
    a stepping stone
    and a winding staircase.
    A thread long held
    through a labyrinth.
    A cup to hold the sadness;
    the freedom to realize
    and release joy.
    The things that save.

    Like

  7. Patricia Tilton
    October 8, 2012

    I am not a poet, so will leave a comment. I love books and they have been a great escape for me during challenging times. Such talent in this group. I loved each and every poem.

    Like

  8. patriciasands
    October 8, 2012

    What beautiful poetry. Thank you all. Lovely idea, Niamh!

    Books whose words transport
    to places unimagined
    feed our hungry souls.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 8, 2012

      Lovely Patricia. Thanks for participating,

      Like

  9. the secret keeper
    October 8, 2012

    The poem that follows will also be posted on my own blog but because it fits the topic i am posting here first.. J.K.

    Like

  10. the secret keeper
    October 8, 2012

    How does a book make you feel?
    By Jennifer Kiley
    10.8.12

    If the book is real
    Or a fantasy
    A tale told well
    Appeals to me
    Telling a story
    that holds my mind
    Has to catch me
    Somewhere
    Out of time

    I love to escape
    To other lands
    Other times
    In elegant prose
    And verses that rhyme
    A book that feels
    Delights me no end
    I open the pages
    And meet an old friend

    Learning ideas
    Newly created
    Expanding my mind
    Into all brand new spaces
    Exploring thoughts
    From realms out of reason
    Uncovering secrets
    And meanings in season

    Books there are many
    So choosing the right one
    Takes some time
    So I’ll choose the bright one
    Where ideas shine
    With brilliant perspective
    I’m one of those
    Who needs time
    I’m very reflective

    Books about lives
    Told throughout time
    A deep interest to me
    Discoveries I’ll find
    Learn about life
    Some different from mine
    Helps one to grow
    It’s not at all to pass time

    A reminder to me
    How important books can be
    I think of Twilight Zone
    All the time in eternity
    A bomb it goes off
    The last person he felt lost
    But luck led him there
    With books more to spare

    His greed for the plenty
    And not caring for the many
    He collected and piled
    All his books made him smile
    But while he was gloating
    His glasses were broken
    The sad tale ends there
    Not a word could be spoken

    © Jennifer Kiley 2012

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 8, 2012

      Lovely poem, Jennifer. I am so happy to have you come and post a poem here. Tragic about the glasses!

      Like

  11. Pingback: If the Book Is Real | the secret keeper

  12. Juliette
    October 10, 2012

    Magically Transported
    I never go anywhere
    Without my space/time machine
    Otherwise know
    As a book
    I’m lost with out one

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      October 10, 2012

      It is a space/time machine. Thank You, Juliette for the lovely poem.

      Like

  13. thiskidreviewsbooks
    October 15, 2012

    The Perfect Book
    By Erik (a kid turning 11 soon)

    The perfect book,
    Doesn’t have a screen,
    Or batteries,
    Or something like T.V.

    The perfect book,
    (It has to be just right),
    It doesn’t have a built-in dictionary,
    Or even a built-in light!

    The perfect book,
    Doesn’t need to be charged,
    (Here’s a hint, you can
    Get some with a Library Card)

    That’s right!
    The perfect book isn’t
    an ebook of some sort,
    It’s a Paper book!

    Great poems above me in the comments and in your post Dr. Clune! 🙂 I’m back, by the way! 😉

    Like

  14. baubo60
    November 2, 2012

    A book that speaks to me
    Can feel like an intimate lover
    I snuggle up with it
    Caress the words on pages
    Read meaning in phrases
    Care for its precious cover
    Wrap it up in transport
    Feel comfort in revisiting continuing stories.
    A book is like a lover
    When there is no ‘other’.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      November 2, 2012

      Lovely! Thank you! A book is like a lover, when there is no other…how true!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2012 by in Special Projects and tagged , , , , , , , .
