Dr Niamh's Plum Tree Creative Community

Who is on the plum tree?

Schedule for Song Of Sahel Event!

Launch of Song Of Sahel on 15th September.
This will include the launch of the anthology, a live radio show, launch of music for download, and art auction…Program as follow:
The launch of Song Of Sahel: A poetry anthology involving poets, artists, music and photography from across the world.

Download from AMAZON HERE (link to be posted on 15th)Find details here on our blog. Please go HERE . The event begins at 10am GMT and continues across the world or 48 hours.The event will be accompanied by a LIVE radio show. Go HERE
 
The radio show will begin @ 6pm GMT, 1pm EST, 10am PST, Central Time 12:00…
THE EVENT WILL BE HOSTED ON PLUM TREE BOOKS HERE…in order to facilitate live twitter feed, links to the web-site and ease of sharing to ALL your friends.There will be traffic directors to help you on the day!!!

See you there. For those who do not follow Facebook, the event will be hosted on our web-site. Go HERE

Music available on Juno Download: HEREHERE

The Art Auction will be hosted on Sunday 16th September HERE and will begin @ 6pm GMT, 1pm EST, 10am PST, 12:00 pm Central Time … The auction will also be linked to the web-site for those who do not frequent FB. Detailed instructions for Art Auction to follow on the day.

I hope you will join us and show your love and support for this cause… All proceeds to SOS Sahel.

Earth Song

sing of earth
the hum
and drum
the rhythm
and pulse
the call
and strum

the beat
the heart
the mother of life
the tree
the sigh
the breath
the strife

the love
we bear
the rent
the tare
the riches
sorrows
and the care

sing them all
make loud
make clear
the crying sound
of children’s fear
that land
and sky
will blighted be
by greed
that grows
on Judas tree

when love’s betrayer
mocks all that sings
and plucks the skies
of silken wings
and smites the fish
and rapes the land
and poisons water
turns food to sand

shall we cry
or shall we sing
a song of hope
for living in
the beauty of
our earth
our mother
giver of life
how do we love her?

Niamh Clune (c) 2012

“Poverty is not an accident. Like slavery and apartheid, it is man-made and can be removed by the actions of human beings.” Nelson Mandela.

 

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

25 comments on “Schedule for Song Of Sahel Event!

  1. Tonia Marie Houston
    September 13, 2012

    So much has gone into this international project, I stand in awe and respect of you and others like Wayne and Claudio. Many thanks to all of you. Proud to stand with Plum Tree in solidarity. Now, I’m off to share the schedule of events. 🙂

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      September 13, 2012

      Yes! There have been many parts to all of this. Thank you for sharing the schedule.

      Like

  2. Joss Landry (@josslandry)
    September 13, 2012

    Preparations are aways hectic, but in a good and miraculous way. When you look back on all of this, Niamh, you will wonder aloud where you got the energy and courage to see it all through. Miracles, they are part of our daily lives. This gathering of people around the world who have to give to those who have not attests to the long way we have come.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      September 13, 2012

      I would like to think so, Joss. I think when I look back, I will decide not to do it again. I need a holiday!

      Like

  3. DiAnne Ebejer
    September 13, 2012

    This is great Niamh, I will post this one on my wordpress blog tomorrow so everyone will have it for Saturday. Hang in there..only 3 more days!

    Like

  4. DiAnne Ebejer
    September 13, 2012

    Love the message above; especially this which says so much!

    “when love’s betrayer
    mocks all that sings
    and plucks the skies
    of silken wings
    and smites the fish
    and rapes the land
    and poisons water
    turns food to sand”

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      September 13, 2012

      Thank You, DiAnne for reading this post and commenting on my poem.

      Like

  5. Wayne Tolbert
    September 13, 2012

    Looking over the content of the Song of Sahel work, I am amazed and so impressed but beyond that I am thankful and grateful because I realize there are those who care, those who give of themselves, who sacrifice tirelessly. So now that September 15th is upon us, perhaps some reflection of what the purpose of this effort has been…and now a celebration of what it can offer to those who really inspired it; the people who live in the parched land and yet struggle each day to survive. They are the heroes and now, may their voices be heard.

    Like

  6. the secret keeper
    September 13, 2012

    Well done. Good Schedule. Easy to follow. Love your poem. The rhythm of the Earth the beat of the heart. Going to share everywhere I can. The Excitement is building. Amazon as soon as the link is posted and avaliable in the US and of course I must be awake, I will be purchasing my copy of The Anthology Song of Sahel. Music already on everything I listen to. Who can sleep. It’s a GO. Brava! Bravo! To Niamh and to all those enthusiastic supporters. Lots of Love. Jennifer

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      September 13, 2012

      let’s hope that now this event is upon us that we can offer solace and succor to those for whom this effort is intended.

      Like

      • the secret keeper
        September 13, 2012

        I am hoping for the goodness that is deep inside of people that it will matter that children, specifically, are in such danger of losing everything, never to have a chance at living a life. People have to dig deep within and care about something beyond their own lives and buy something meaningful like The Anthology Song of Sahel and the music “Give Me Life” and “Island of Hope” and those that have so much with bid on the paintings offered up for the Auction by the artists themselves. I want to believe that there will be people out there that care. I have to believe that selfishness can disappear and humanity and generosity will break through and owning something beautiful will be incentive to help support the aid and funds for Sahel. I want and feel optimistic.

        Like

      • ontheplumtree
        September 14, 2012

        I want to believe that the world still demonstrates humanity too.

        Like

      • the secret keeper
        September 14, 2012

        We have to believe in the people who do not support reality shows or prefer seeing the Kardashian’s on The Today Show and would rather watch the moment of silence at Ground Zero where the World Trade Center went down at the time they were hit by the planes that awful Tuesday Morning.

        Like

  7. the secret keeper
    September 13, 2012

    Reblogged this on the secret keeper and commented:
    Well done. Good Schedule. Easy to follow. Love your poem. The rhythm of the Earth the beat of the heart. Going to share everywhere I can. The Excitement is building. Amazon as soon as the link is posted and avaliable in the US and of course I must be awake, I will be purchasing my copy of The Anthology Song of Sahel. Music already on everything I listen to. Who can sleep. It’s a GO. Brava! Bravo! To Niamh and to all those enthusiastic supporters. Lots of Love. Jennifer

    Like

  8. DiAnne Ebejer
    September 14, 2012

    Reblogged this on dianneebejer and commented:
    Here it is as promised. The Schedule for all of the Song of Sahel Events this weekend! Links t everthing are provided here so bookmark this to get to all the important links! Have a great weekend and see you there!

    Like

  9. Betty Dravis
    September 14, 2012

    It seems that everyday when I come online, Niamh Clune has developed another noble cause to help people. This is an awesome undertaking that represents hours and hours of Niamh’s time (and the time of her crew of dedicated artists). My hat’s off to all of you for your tireless efforts on behalf of others.

    Big Hugs – Betty Dravis

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      September 14, 2012

      Thank You, Betty for your unending support. When this is over, I will return to normal and be able to touch in with you all again

      Like

  10. cherduncombe
    September 14, 2012

    Niamh, there are not enough superlatives to describe all you have done for the Song of Sahel Event. Please know how deeply your efforts are appreciated. Let us think good thoughts, positive thoughts, and believe that the people of the Sahel will benefit from your endless hours of striving to produce this extraordinary event.

    Many hugs to you~~~

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      September 14, 2012

      Many thanks for your reassuring comments, Cher. i pray from the depths of my being that we can make something happen here for at least a few of the children of Sahel

      Like

  11. Uncle Tree
    September 14, 2012

    Your poem, Niamh, your very well-chosen words ♥
    blow me away to a place I’ve never been;
    to a time that can’t be Now. Can it?
    Now that I know second-hand
    what it’s like to be that
    (indescribable)
    what will I
    Can I
    do?

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      September 15, 2012

      Please just support. Please download the track, download the book, tune in to the radio show, be there for us on this day and help us to promote…give all you heart to us today.

      Like

  12. theclaudiofiore
    September 15, 2012

    Reblogged this on The Claudio Fiore and commented:
    Well the day is upon us. Check out the schedule! 🙂

    Like

  13. theclaudiofiore
    September 15, 2012

    Wonderful. Reblogged, and tweeted and Facebooked,

    Like

Leave a Reply

