Dr Niamh's Plum Tree Creative Community

Who is on the plum tree?

More Beautiful Art Seducing Your Participation in Song Of Sahel Auction!

Do you see what I mean about the exquisite art that is being auctioned by Plum Tree Books’ artists for Song Of Sahel on September 16th? Oh! I love Susie Bertie’s Geisha. She looks like a Goddess too doesn’t she? She is voluptuous and gorgeous, full of longing and promise. And wouldn’t she look great on your wall? Although the style is influenced by Art Nouveau, Susie’s Geisha reminds me greatly of the Pre-Raphaelites and William Morris’ wonderful, flowery wallpapers and designs that gave rise to a whole movement of designers and artists in the UK.  He founded a design firm in partnership with the artist Edward Burne-Jones and with the poet and artist Dante Gabriel Rossetti, which profoundly influenced the decoration of English churches and houses into the early 20th century.

I hope Susie doesn’t mind my being fanciful with her painting and assuming associations with her style.  But her Geisha is so evocative. After all, it was William Morris and the Pre-Raphaelites that inspired the likes of Tolkein and the English fantascists of that era. If Susie’s picture puts me in mind of all that, it will surely also stimulate your imaginations. Susie tells me that the purpose of her Geisha is to distract us away from our “too much” days. This Geisha’s intention is to seduce us into participating in the Song Of Sahel event.

The Launch of the anthology is on 15th September.  In Trans-Atlantic, Trans-Continental, Asian, Antipodean words, images and music, we hope to raise awareness of the plight of the Sahel region in Africa. And we WANT you to download our beautiful book! Yes! We do! Our Geisha asks shamelessly that you do that…that you download the anthology, the beautiful music tracks written especially for the event, and that some of you will even bid on these wonderful pictures.

Please, take a moment away from your ‘too much‘ days to participate, visit & experience our amazing community of artists.

Susie’s  prismacolor colored pencil piece will be available for auction here.

The event will be hosted HERE and for Facebook, HERE over the coming weekend. Download the music HERE and HERE

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

21 comments on “More Beautiful Art Seducing Your Participation in Song Of Sahel Auction!

  1. soziebird
    September 10, 2012

    oh my …. I am miles & miles into aghast humble-ness. Thank you Niamh for your words, critique & passion for this event ….

    Like

  2. theclaudiofiore
    September 10, 2012

    Wow! An amazing piece of art. Sentual and beautiful framing. Wonderful work.

    Like

  3. theclaudiofiore
    September 10, 2012

    Reblogged this on The Claudio Fiore and commented:
    More wonderful art for the Song Of Sahel event on-line auction.

    Like

  4. Juliette
    September 10, 2012

    Beautiful and I’ll be bidding. I’ll also repost on my blog.

    Like

  5. Jontybabe (JBJ) (@jontybabe)
    September 10, 2012

    Oh I love it!!!

    Like

  6. Tonia Marie Houston
    September 10, 2012

    It’s sublime. I’ll be in on the bidding for this one, for sure. Sharing, tweeting, getting excited! 🙂

    Like

  7. thiskidreviewsbooks
    September 10, 2012

    Love it! 🙂

    Like

  8. Uncle Tree
    September 11, 2012

    “Tease me. Please me.”

    My goodness! 🙂 What a temptation!

    Like

  9. the secret keeper
    September 11, 2012

    Need to reblog. I want this beautifu Geisha to beautify one of the posts on my blog. I agree with you all esp. Niamh & Claudio, she is quite sensuous. There are many that will want her for their collection. And I remember that Dante Gabriel Rossetti is the brother to Christina Rossetti, among one of my favorite poets from the past. Fascinating to know they had an influence on Tolkien and the fantascists. And the circle comes back to the beginning. Will Reblog after midnight to get the Night Writer’s people and those who wake up at that time. Who said the sun never set on the British Empire? Was it Queen Victoria or a supporter? Wel, the sun is always coming up somewhere. Great article Niamh for the Auction and Susie, a Great painting to contribute to the cause, Sahel. Niamh, you keep amazing me on where you get your energy to keep producing so many creative contributions to Sahel. I’m excited about The Anthology and The Auction. It should be an exciting weekend. I am also looking forward to the live Radio Show and the Interview with you Dr. Niamh Clune. That should definitely be one of the major highlights of the Event and of the entire weekend ending late on Monday, if I am correct. Thank you for all of your work Niamh. You’re a real Trooper. A.L. Jennifer ps. And don’t think I have forgotten any of the real Helpers behind the scenes. You know who you are and so does Niamh and I am sure you feel greatly toward the success of Song of Sahel in all its aspects.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      September 11, 2012

      Thank You, Jennifer…and don’t worry, I have been thanking all the helpers as we go along.

      Like

      • the secret keeper
        September 11, 2012

        I know you have but I know that those not behind the scenes don’t realize who does all the different aspects of pulling together such a monumental endeavor. I wanted to thank people who helped because this cause is extremely important to me and all those who helped and supported the cause throughout or became involved along the way and want to see this become an extreme success. They all need thanks and you especially need acknowl;edgement for bringing Song of Sahel to us all to begin with and it is an honourable thing you did and Sahel will have hope generated to their people including especially the children. A.L. Jennifer

        Like

  10. Patricia Tilton
    September 11, 2012

    Absolutely breathtaking. There is so much talent here.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      September 11, 2012

      Yes…isn’t there. Patricia? Thank you so much for stopping by.

      Like

  11. the secret keeper
    September 11, 2012

    Reblogged this on the secret keeper and commented:
    I’m excited about The Anthology and The Auction. It should be an exciting weekend. I am also looking forward to the live Radio Show and the Interview with you Dr. Niamh Clune. That should definitely be one of the major highlights of the Event and of the entire weekend ending late on Monday, if I am correct. Thank you for all of your work Niamh. You’re a real Trooper. A.L. Jennifer ps. And don’t think I have forgotten any of the real Helpers behind the scenes. You know who you are and so does Niamh and I am sure you feel greatly toward the success of Song of Sahel in all its aspects.

    Like

Leave a Reply

