Dr Niamh's Plum Tree Creative Community

Who is on the plum tree?

Passing On The Torch: Blog-Hope of Solidarity Song of Sahel

I am moved and amazed at the response that project Song of Sahel is receiving from members of the Plum Tree Group. The Secret Keeper aka Jennifer Kiley kicked off the response by making a making a badge for her site, with all the links back to here. I still don’t know how she managed it. Perhaps by the grace of the goddess, Jennifer will teach me how to do it.

Jennifer is a tour de force in blog-land. She is a voracious blogger, compassionate, generous and has made a wonderful contribution to The Song of Sahel.

Jennifer’s activity inspired a whole sluagh (Irish for a lot) of activity.  Susie Bertie and DiAnne Ebejer quickly followed suit with unique and quirky blog responses. In Suzie’s blog, she speaks of the “artists, writers, poets, dreamers & drifters, and the occasional dancing bear that make up the “international tribe of creatives! who are coming together “to champion not only one another, but the whole creative process.”

Susie writes poetically about the “Holes” in our world  that must be filled, not ignored…such as Sahel.

Susie is an extraordinary poet. I hope to publish her poetry collection on Plum Tree Books in the near future.

DiAnne Ebejer has been a long-term support in the formation of Plum Tree Books. She is the kind of gal that everyone should have as a friend. She is reliable, a rock, the sort of person you can complain to behind the scenes. She listens, nods her head diplomatically, and carries on. DiAnne is another of plum tree Books’ gifted poets. She writes with such care, usually with a philosophical twist…always with a point. DiAnne’s collection will be published on Plum Tree Books also.

Then there is Shirani Rajapaske…Shirani posted her blog in which she gives fact and figure in straight-shooting-from-the-hip, dynamic delivery. Shirani has submitted poems for the Song of Sahel and has been featured in previous Plum Tree Books’ anthologies such as Every Child is Entitled to Innocence.

DeAnne Townes has interpreted the blog relay in her own, inimitable, passionate way. She picked up the flame and brought it to her neck of the woods to the native American community on the borders of Arizona and Mexico.

The Song of Sahel is like a torch of inspiration travelling across the world from UK, to the shores of USA to Sri Lanka.  I wonder how many more will join in this relay chain of hope and inspiration as we carry the Song of Sahel across the world in preparation for our own event on 15th September?

There is still time to submit something. Please see: https://ontheplumtree.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/a-song-of-sahel-sos-calling-for-submissions/ The writing or art prompt is there. Join the Facebook event

I will be telling you more about the wonderful contributors to this event as time goes on.

Contributing Blogs and More to Come

The Secret Keeper

DiAnne’s Place http://ebbiesplace.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/song-of-sahel.html?spref=fb

Susie Bertie  http://sooziebird.blogspot.com

Claudio Fiore http://claudfiore.blogspot.com/

Tonia Harris http://passionfind.wordpress.com

Dee Ann Townes http://deannative.posterous.com

http://feetfirstbook.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/from-my-window-the-song-of-sahel-sos/

http://vampiremaman.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/those-who-dream-those-who-do-not/

Tony Mutton AKA DarKasean http://darkarsean.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/1216/

Patricia Sands http://patriciasands.wordpress.com/2012/08/28/2291/#comment-2211

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

9 comments on “Passing On The Torch: Blog-Hope of Solidarity Song of Sahel

  1. DarKarsean
    August 6, 2012

    Reblogged this on darkarsean.

    Like

  2. DiAnne Ebejer
    August 6, 2012

    Thank you millions Niamh for this wonderful recognition of us. It is you that inspires and we are the recipients of that inspiration.

    Like

  3. the secret keeper
    August 6, 2012

    Thank You Niamh, I am touched beyond words. What a sweet way to start my day. I appreciate being appreciated but the inspiration and motivation comes through you. How anyone cannot me called into action on such a precious cause would mystify me and as you can see the creative forces of Plum Tree Group have risen to the cause. You demonstrate through your due diligence and 50-hour days that which has become important to all but which started as being important to you. It has also spread out like a Ripple Effect to others throughout the world. In appreciation for your strength and endurance I give you my fealty. Always, Jennifer

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      August 6, 2012

      Am moved, touched and grateful to you, wonderful woman.

      Like

      • the secret keeper
        August 8, 2012

        You are Wonder Woman. You have her powers in the way you put energy within your words. They are filled with meaning that generate warmth and support.Thank You.

        Like

  4. soziebird
    August 6, 2012

    Thank you … and so very AWESTRUCK … and perhaps a little moonstruck by the sheer weight & wonder of all were capable of … Niamh – your craft & heart are gloriously unfolding and soldiering us forward to change the world !!

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      August 6, 2012

      Merci beaucoup, madame…just look at the talent we collectively boast!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2012 by in Special Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
