Dr Niamh On The Plum Tree

Childhood Imagination Sows Seeds of Future Brilliance

Poetry in Music

I am very excited to tell you that the Plum Tree Music page is coming together. The first wonderful musician that I have featured is Janice Kelly who gave us the piano music for our Spring poetry collection. Janice is joined in a creative collaboration by bard, Wayne Tolbert. Wayne is one of our featured poets in the Spring Anthology. I hope you will enjoy this creative synthesis. I made the little video for them in celebration of verse in music.

http://www.wix.com/niamhclune/janicekelly

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

8 comments on “Poetry in Music

  1. Betty Dravis
    April 26, 2012

    What a lovely, soothing video…both the poetry, music and the visuals. Thanks for making a quiet, musical oasis for me in the midst of a busy night. Niamh, this video is superb; elegant photos. Is there nothing you can’t do, Niamh? Wow!

    Hugs – Betty Dravis.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      April 26, 2012

      Thank You, Betty. You are always so supportive.

      Like

  2. Uncle Tree
    April 26, 2012

    That all worked out rather well, Niamh!
    And it’s a great idea. I’m impressed! 🙂

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      April 27, 2012

      Thank You, Uncle Tree. To see what we do with our anthologies, where we will feature you soon in the Butterfly Effect, Please visit our web-site and go to the Poetry On The Plume Tree icon (it is a picture of a lovely blossom) and take a look at our poetry page. http://www.plumtreebooks.co

      Like

      • Uncle Tree
        April 27, 2012

        Yes! I see it now. A very nice setup, indeed! 🙂
        Oh, and by the way, Aaron Pocock said he’d
        like to be featured. I hope you hear from him.

        Have a great Friday, NIamh!

        Like

  3. Patricia Tilton
    April 30, 2012

    Janice is such a talented musician — and I’m partial to pianists. The video was absolutely beautiful and I enjoyed it a lot. Commented on FB too. Like that you are including all forms of art.

    Like

    • ontheplumtree
      April 30, 2012

      I think we enhance each other with different art forms. Maybe it is a mistake that I diversify so much in a blog rather than sticking to just one main focus. But I love to bring creative minds together. I think magic happens.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2012 by in Special Projects and tagged .
