Plum Tree Books Blog

"Where Words Grow On Trees"

Guest Corner: Tahlia Newland

Recently, I was lucky enough to be featured on the wonderful, Awesome Indies site.
I wanted to tell you a bit about author friend, Tahlia Newland, the lady who was kind enough to feature me…
tahilia newland

Tahlia is an author,

of things metaphysical,

stories of hope,

 inspiring and lyrical.

Teacher of high school,

friend of the truth

the day-to-day magic

at core, and at root.

She is reader, mask-maker,

performer of drama

dweller of rainforest,

in Australia

Her stories for adults,

both young and old

contain wisdom inherent

allegories of soul.

Her titles are: Lethal Inheritance (new adult contemporary fantasy) You Can’t Shatter Me (YA magical realism) A Matter of Perception (A collection of  urban fantasy & magical realism short stories plus a paranormal romance novella)

Visit her blog Here

Thank you, Tahlia!

About niamh clune

I love to write in childish rhyme I really do it all the time A Doctor and a Nana too 'Tis on the plum tree that I grew! Before we go any further, I must let you into one of my secrets. When I was little, fairies lived at the bottom of my garden. I used to talk or sing to them quietly (as fairies don't like shouting). And when dew covered the grass and made it glitter and sparkle, I knew the fairies were preparing for a shindig! Everyone knows that when dew is on the grass, fairies have their choice of the most beautiful sparkles imaginable. Fairies might wear peony or iris sparkle. They might wear rose or violet sparkle. Boy fairies wear shamrock and shiny breeches of bark be-dewed and made smooth and slithery ~ great for sliding down mole-hills! Fairies always throw parties in celebration of dew, as fairies love nothing more! They drink it, and it makes them giggle! They wear it, and it makes them shimmer. Dew really is the diamond in the fairy-queen crown. Apart from anything else, dew means it is a new day, and fairies love the time before dawn when they can flit and dart ~ flicker and start; hover and whiz ~ zip and fizz; float and flash ~ make-a-dash; tease and prance ~ skip and dance; hurry and scurry ~ all of a flurry; rush and rail ~ skim, speed and sail! The very best Leprechaun fiddlers play the most lively jigs. Elf harpists pluck at your heartstrings and weave magic in verse. Goblins are, by far, the best drummers, whilst meadow sprites have very high, reedy singing voices ~ almost inaudible to all but the very trained musical ear. Usually appearing on percussion are the cobbler gnomes ~ with a-clink and a-clank, whenever needed, and in perfect time. All in all, fairy gatherings are a sight to see ~ for those able to see them. I spent many an early morning dancing to the tunes of the little people. Very soon, they began to trust me, (Fairies seldom trust humans, as humans do very strange things to fairies and to fairyland), but I could dance a fine jig, pirouette often, sing a long song and recite a poem, all of which is of very great interest to fairies. They taught me some of their ancient secrets about bees and butterflies, worms and magic bears who know such an awful lot about everything. They also taught me secrets about science and the sky, and how to grow up into someone who is wise (wise enough to still believe in fairies). I like to share some of those mysteries with boys and girls (and grown-ups who still have magic in them) who are inquisitive but can also keep a secret. Sssssssssh! Promise you won't tell anyone... Are you ready? Now listen well, to the stories I will tell...

18 comments on “Guest Corner: Tahlia Newland

  1. Juliette
    December 18, 2012

    A new author (new for me) with books I want to read!!!! I put up a blurb for her book “You Can’t Shatter Me” on my blog! Thanks for sharing Niamh!

    Like this

  2. the secret keeper
    December 18, 2012

    I remember Niamh when you were featured on Tahlia Newland’s site. The post was brilliant on Metaphysical Literature. The sound of the titles of her books make me think I am in need of checking them out. Not only would I like to read them but they sound like they would also make for some surpurses in stockings of the hopefully kindle kind on a certain holiday morn or eve. I am definitely going to check them out and Tahlia’s site again also. Thank you for your post & the light that it lit in my head. You always have perfect timing, Niamh. a.l. j.k. jennifer ;-)

    Like this

  3. Tahlia Newland
    December 19, 2012

    Thanks for the feature, Niamh. It’s heartwarming to hear people say they want to check out my books. I’m still trying to find my readers, and you’ve elegantly written something that gets to the essence of what I’m about. You’ve even inspired me!

    Like this

    • ontheplumtree
      December 19, 2012

      Lol! Well! Us writers of metaphysical books must stick together!

      Like this

  4. Tahlia Newland
    December 19, 2012

    By the way, both of my novels are available in paperback.

    Like this

    • ontheplumtree
      December 19, 2012

      I should have mentioned that! I will do so the next time.

      Like this

  5. the secret keeper
    December 19, 2012

    Hello, I have nominated you for “Blog of the Year 2012″ and “The Very Inspiring Blog Award”…You can find the awards and the pick up at “The Secret Keeper(dot)net” Congratulations! ps. for some reason your blogs will not accept a link in your comment boxes.

    Like this

    • ontheplumtree
      December 19, 2012

      Thank you, Jennifer. I do not understand why a link can’t be left in the comment boxes.

      Like this

      • the secret keeper
        December 19, 2012

        It was happening whereever I tried to leave a message, so I improvized.

        Like this

  6. the secret keeper
    December 19, 2012

    Hello, I have nominated you for “Blog of the Year 2012″ and “The Very Inspiring Blog Award”…You can find the awards and the pick up at “The Secret Keeper(dot)net” Congratulations! ps. for some reason your blogs will not accept a link in your comment boxes. (Did I leave one of these for you already. Sorry if this is a repeat but having difficulties. This is to homour the great work and creativity and inspiration you do on your blog. Thank you.) j.k.

    Like this

    • ontheplumtree
      December 19, 2012

      You are so generous, Jennifer.

      Like this

      • the secret keeper
        December 19, 2012

        You deserve all 6 stars. You should make a page for all your awards rather than putting them on your home page. Treat them like posting an illustrations or photos. j.k ps. just ask if you want to work on the badge posting.

        Like this

  7. Pingback: Two reviews, a guest post about truth in fiction, an unexpected call out and a beautiful poem | Tahlia Newland, author

  8. Patricia Tilton
    December 19, 2012

    Thank you for introducing me to Tahlia Newland. Her books look interesting. Loved your introduction.

    Like this

    • ontheplumtree
      December 19, 2012

      I hope you will love her books! She is a fellow metaphysical writer and runs a great blog.

      Like this

  9. thiskidreviewsbooks
    December 21, 2012

    Great poem! :D

    Like this

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,449 other followers

