Plum Tree Books Blog

"Where Words Grow On Trees"

Tahlia Newland runs a really interesting blog site for Indies Authors. Well! I would say that. She has given me a wonderful review for Orange Petals In A Storm. I will be featuring Tahlia soon on Plum Tree Books. The follow-up to Orange Petals In A Storm, Exaltation Of A Rose, will be available shortly. Many thanks Tahlia for the great review!

About niamh clune

I was born in Dublin, back in the days when it was full of poets, mystics, philanderers, drinkers, passionate speech-makers and wanna-be-Joyceans. Dublin was enshrouded then in a pall of Catholicism ~ Church and State were like Siamese Twins. I was a rebel ~ in the sense that I couldn't help but think for myself. There were Maoists, musicians and academics all trying to do the same. Gatherings were frenetic, passionate, yet often tempered by some of the gentle 'aul' folk not made bigots by religion or politics but liberated by both into realising the gentle and constant passing of all things. They were of my grand-parent's generation, sweet breaths of peat-soaked air, demonstrative of the tremendous inner peace and calm that comes from knowing who you are and where you come from. These days, I am a writer, poet, environmental campaigner, and musician ~ among other things. I gained a Ph.D in Acquiring Wisdom Through The Imagination, and I love teaching and sharing my inspiration. These days, I am also writing children's books. I believe that reading to little ones, even before they can understand words, teaches them to associate books with love and affection. Find my books on my page.

6 comments on “

  1. the secret keeper
    November 30, 2012

    her review was so detailed and insightful that I also reblogged to thesecretkeeper. it is inspiring and if I didn’t already own “Orange Petals in a Storm” I would have bought the book the moment after reading her quite descriptive and accurate review about metaphysical literature and magical realism. all of this and more Tahlia Newland wrote in her review about Dr. Niamh Clune’s book. Brava! Niamh. j.k. :-)

    Like this

  2. Roisin Penzer (@rozpenzer)
    December 2, 2012

    I love Niamh’s work, she is really talented and a fantastic story teller, I couldn’t put the book down until it was finished and I am waiting with baited breath for the next instalment. Publishers should do well and read her work, why she hasn’t been picked up by the major publishing houses is beyond me. Come on publishers, it’s about time you read her work and get her signed up, she is amazing!

    Like this

  3. thiskidreviewsbooks
    December 2, 2012

    What a nice review :) I have a question. What is metaphysical literature? Thank you :)

    Like this

  4. ontheplumtree
    December 3, 2012

    Erik! I have described it as, when the invisible world of spirit plays a natural part in our everyday world. If you want the longer version, I have described it more fully (and intellectually) in a previous post: A Definition of Metaphysical Literature in which I explain its origins (which were in poetry).

    Metaphysical Literature is based in philosophy, but is written as simple stories…they are a way of teaching people about different aspects of reality…making them think…and doing it simply. if you would like to read more, my definition is beside this one on this blog. I know how clever you are, so you might like to read it. Today, Metaphysical Literature has morphed into Magic Realism, which is categorised as Fantasy, although, I think this is misleading as it is really much more than that.

    I hope that helps.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 29, 2012 by in Special Projects and tagged .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,411 other followers

