Plum Tree Books Blog

"Where Words Grow On Trees"

Music Release! ‘Give Me Life.’ Official single for Song Of Sahel

It is not often that you meet someone with whom you instantly click.

Claudio Fiore is one of those affable, ‘Yes We Can’  blokes that makes a person feel secure, appreciated, and as if nothing is too much trouble. He liked my vision for Plum Tree Books, and I asked him if he would consider being our Musical Director.

Claudio is a producer, writer and musician involved with, and creating, many styles of music. His lead instrument is drums.

In preparation for Song Of Sahel, Claudio immediately set about writing a track for the event. He asked me if I would like to write lyrics and a melody and if I would sing the song. I played the track to my daughter, Aleisha, and she loved it. Together, we began molding the lyrics and the melody, even involving her husband, Hayato, (himself a very fine musician), to come up with the final melody. Claudio came to the house and, in a marathon session, recorded Give me Life and another track that I will tell you about.

I wanted Aleisha to sing the lead vocal to show off her beautiful voice. I am a proud mother indeed. I think Claudio feels he has discovered a new star!

Aleisha has a BA Honours degree in Music, Performance and Visual Art from Brighton University. She also has a Masters degree in Music from Surrey University. She has been doing sessions and singing since she was twelve and continues the family tradition of music and singing. These days, she teaches singing and vocal health. Her participation in Song Of Sahel is her come-back to music having been totally engaged in the joys of becoming a mother to Siolfor-Rose. I sang vocal harmony with Aleisha on the track. Being mother and daughter, our voices blend  well together. At last,  the official single representing Song Of Sahel Give Me Life is released and ready to download. All proceeds go to SOS Sahel. Go to link HERE.

Tom Cloverfield is the man/genius/producer/musician/heart behind Ultrasonic Music Germany. I have a CD, Touching Angels, released on his label.

Tom, being the generous spirit that he is, immediately donated one of his tracks for the Song Of Sahel event. Again, he asked me if I would write lyrics and add vocals to his track. Once again, I asked my daughter if she would like to sing. (I was determined to tempt her back into music for selfish reasons, so as to hear her beautiful voice, once again, thrill my heart). She loved the track, completely different in style to Claudio’s. I wrote a poem, Island Of Hope for the track to describe how we can all be islands of hope for each other in the midst of  tragedy.

Island of Hope is a chill-out, dance track. Aleisha’s vocals are, one again, superb.  Go to link HERE to download this great music.

I hope you will support this wonderful project by buying this music and telling your friends about it. A new star is born in Aleisha. Be there to discover her. Enjoy this music, given from the heart by all of us who have worked tirelessly to bring it to you. Help us raise funds for the desperate situation in Sahel…Give them life, and be an Island of Hope in the midst of tragedy. Thank You!

Join the event on Facebook HERE

Visit our web-site to see more about this event HERE

About niamh clune

I love to write in childish rhyme I really do it all the time A Doctor and a Nana too 'Tis on the plum tree that I grew! Before we go any further, I must let you into one of my secrets. When I was little, fairies lived at the bottom of my garden. I used to talk or sing to them quietly (as fairies don't like shouting). And when dew covered the grass and made it glitter and sparkle, I knew the fairies were preparing for a shindig! Everyone knows that when dew is on the grass, fairies have their choice of the most beautiful sparkles imaginable. Fairies might wear peony or iris sparkle. They might wear rose or violet sparkle. Boy fairies wear shamrock and shiny breeches of bark be-dewed and made smooth and slithery ~ great for sliding down mole-hills! Fairies always throw parties in celebration of dew, as fairies love nothing more! They drink it, and it makes them giggle! They wear it, and it makes them shimmer. Dew really is the diamond in the fairy-queen crown. Apart from anything else, dew means it is a new day, and fairies love the time before dawn when they can flit and dart ~ flicker and start; hover and whiz ~ zip and fizz; float and flash ~ make-a-dash; tease and prance ~ skip and dance; hurry and scurry ~ all of a flurry; rush and rail ~ skim, speed and sail! The very best Leprechaun fiddlers play the most lively jigs. Elf harpists pluck at your heartstrings and weave magic in verse. Goblins are, by far, the best drummers, whilst meadow sprites have very high, reedy singing voices ~ almost inaudible to all but the very trained musical ear. Usually appearing on percussion are the cobbler gnomes ~ with a-clink and a-clank, whenever needed, and in perfect time. All in all, fairy gatherings are a sight to see ~ for those able to see them. I spent many an early morning dancing to the tunes of the little people. Very soon, they began to trust me, (Fairies seldom trust humans, as humans do very strange things to fairies and to fairyland), but I could dance a fine jig, pirouette often, sing a long song and recite a poem, all of which is of very great interest to fairies. They taught me some of their ancient secrets about bees and butterflies, worms and magic bears who know such an awful lot about everything. They also taught me secrets about science and the sky, and how to grow up into someone who is wise (wise enough to still believe in fairies). I like to share some of those mysteries with boys and girls (and grown-ups who still have magic in them) who are inquisitive but can also keep a secret. Sssssssssh! Promise you won't tell anyone... Are you ready? Now listen well, to the stories I will tell...

17 comments on “Music Release! ‘Give Me Life.’ Official single for Song Of Sahel

  1. Tom Cloverfield
    September 1, 2012

    Thank you Niamh; I am happy to be part of this charity project. it feels great that through art and music we can help others! Thank you so much for your wonderful words, I am getting red now…..:-)) It was and is a real pleasure to work with all of you! Thank you, Niamh, for your wonderful lyrics and vocals and Aleisha for her awesome vocal performance.

    Like this

  2. theclaudiofiore
    September 1, 2012

    Reblogged this on The Claudio Fiore and commented:
    This is music by me, lyrics by the wonderful Niamh Clune, and vocals from the beautiful voice of Aleisha Shimizu. Please support our cause. proceeds from the sale of the tracks on this release go to SOS Sahel charity for the Song of Sahel event.

    Like this

  3. theclaudiofiore
    September 1, 2012

    This is a great post. I have reblogged. Glad to see it all coming together now.

    Like this

  4. the secret keeper
    September 1, 2012

    You cannot imagine how happy I was to see this post on your blog. Of course, I will download both recordings. Give Me Life is going to be a great title to represent Song of Sahel. I am delighted to be able to add Aleisha, Cluadio and your music into my music collection and on my mp3. Plus, Island of Hope, I look forward to having both and seeing Aleisha blossom in her singing career. Make her mother proud. Also, I want to hear your harmony Niamh and the lyrics for both songs. It is great to see this post. Now I will download them and say goodnight. Brava! Brabo. Thanks to Tom Cloverfield for his participation. This makes me smile. Jennifer

    Like this

  5. mapelba
    September 1, 2012

    Beautiful work, all of you.

    Like this

  6. Tonia Marie Houston
    September 1, 2012

    Thrilling. I’ve tweeted and shared. Bless the ones who have musical bones and what a collaboration!

    Like this

  7. cherduncombe
    September 1, 2012

    This is without a doubt one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard! Kudos to you, Niamh, Aleisha, and Claudio. I am posting it everywhere! :)

    Like this

    • ontheplumtree
      September 1, 2012

      Thank You, Cher. It is heartening to know that you like our efforts. I hope that our enthusiasm translates into sales.

      Like this

  8. patriciasands
    September 1, 2012

    How beautiful! What a fine example of a talented collaboration. I’m off to share!

    Like this

  9. DiAnne Ebejer
    September 1, 2012

    Reblogged this on dianneebejer.

    Like this

  10. DiAnne Ebejer
    September 1, 2012

    Just wonderful and then some! Have tweeted, shared, and re-blogged on WordPress! Outstanding job by all involved!

    Like this

    • ontheplumtree
      September 1, 2012

      Yes! We are very proud of it, DiAnne

      Like this

      • theclaudiofiore
        September 2, 2012

        Really, really, proud. I am so pleased to work with such professionals. Brings a totally new meaning to making music for me, and a totally new dimension to my music.

        Like this

  11. thiskidreviewsbooks
    September 2, 2012

    This is awesome! I am glad to be part of this event! :) I’ll ask my mom to download the music!

    Like this

    • ontheplumtree
      September 8, 2012

      Sorry to have been delayed in my reply Erik, I hope you will enjoy the track. The anthology is coming soon and has your wonderful poem and Josie’s art in it. I am proud indeed to have you there.

      Like this

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,447 other followers

